Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
If this recipe had more rating stars i would max them out. This recipe is great. I followed the recipe to the exact. I can't figure out why some change the ingredients and give the recipe a lower rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
So yummy! I added 1/2 cup onion and simmered the smoked neck bones for an hour while I trimmed the greens. Let it cook for a couple of hours then removed the meat from the bones and returned to the pot. I also added a few dashes of hot sauce. I served it with Not Dirty Rice-substitute ground beef for the gizzards and livers-and the combo was wonderful. Absolutely a keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I cooked my turkey necks for an 1/2 hour and then put in 3 bunches of greens. Sauteed an onion and bellpepper and added them to the greens. I added a little vegetable oil and let it simmer for 2 hours. It was jammin. Thanks for the recipe. I always have a hard time with greens. Your recipe was very helpful. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
As always,I grew collards for someone else this year and ended up with an abundance.I wanted an authentic southern recipe and this was it.I threw this in the crockpot on low and it is fantastic.I love collards(first time eating em).I will be growing more next year just for this recipe.No sugar was needed as others have said and the smell isn't bad especially I suppose in the crock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Thanks for sharing this easy recipe. I normally start my ham hocks first and then add my greens. I think I like them that way better it helps make the ham hocks tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Really nice flavor. next time will reduce the vinegar...and no salt needed to be added with chicken broth in it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I've always had the worst time making greens. However, this one came out amazin'! I cooked the ham hocks in the liquid for half an hour prior to adding the greens. I also added 1 tablespoon of sugar and half an onion(chopped). Came out quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I can't get enough of these greens! I followed the receipe exactly except for letting the greens simmer for a couple of hours versus an hour. They were very good and I throughly enjoyed them! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This recipe is great! My husband loves it and he is from Mobile, AL. I have made this recipe a dozen times and I have adjusted it slightly. I simmer all ingredients except the greens in a slow cooker for 8 hours on low. Then I cut any meat I can off of the hocks and put it in a pot along with the greens. I pour the liquid on the greens and then simmer on the stove for an hour. Also, recipe does not need added salt. I also use 2 bunches of greens as this recipe provides plenty of liquid to cook 2 bunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Just like mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States