Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by ALeach
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I love collards. I cook the hamhocks for about an hour or so depending on the size of the hamhocks before adding the collards. I like my hamhocks very tender and falling off the bone. I also add 2 to 4 of a tablespoons of sugar to take away the bitter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this recipe for New Years Day. I turned out great. I followed it as stated but added 1 to 2 TBSP of sugar with all the other ingredients. Everyone enjoyed it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Hickcox Cyr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Springs, Maryland, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
We didn't like these. It could be we just don't like collard greens in general because the recipe sounds like it should be great. You really can't go wrong with smoked hamhocks! To me, it tasted like cooked spinach... I ate a bit, but will stick to cabbage next new years'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Doyle Lundy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
So good. Very comforting. I omitted the water and the vinegar. I sauteed half an onion, 3 cloves of minced garlic in about 2 tbs. of extra virgin Olive Oil, added 3 strips of bacon, salt, pepper and red pepper flakes. Cooked on low for about 2 hours. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Wow - I used a ham bone left over from Thanksgiving with a lot of meat on it. It was the most popular dish at the table. Two bunches makes alot!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Great recipe! The only thing I changed was the time. I got the fire as low as I could get it and left it there (cover on) all night, and all day, stirring occasionally. I heard if you do the same thing with green beans, they come out amazing. Can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chanel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Camp Pendleton, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I'm working a great southern menu for the holidays. This recipe is essential. I do believe it needs more than an hour to cook and I will no question cook the meat in a slow cooker for a while before adding the greens. My ham hocks didn't fall apart and I'm OK with that. I don't want to blame this recipe so I will say that I used 4 hamhocks and that could have been my problem, regardless I'm going to use smoked turkey wings in the future. This is a great recipe and I'm thankful I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
My wife said it was better than her Grandmother's. Wow ! Only thing I did differently was add a tablespoon of brown sugar. Also if you are new with collards be sure to wash them several times & I always cut out the big stems off the leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by husbandwhocooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winterville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe and my gang gobbled it up. In addition to the hock, I also added in some chopped bacon. I let it simmer for a couple hours and served it the next day. Flavor was fantastic and went great with our fried chicken. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was amazing.. I haven't had collard greens this good since I lived down south. I recommend this to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States