Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I really enjoyed this. Not sure what to do about the Ham hocks, though. I found them indedible. Are they just for flavoring the greens or does one eat them? The only reason I'm going 4 stars instead of 5 is my family just didn't appreciate it as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriFur

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Well, to begin with I am a real southern gal and this recipe was right up my alley. I didn't make any changes and I did as someone else had done and cooked the ham hocks in the crockpot the night before with all the liquids. These were excellent. Definitly a keeper for this old southern gal and her hillbilly husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawthorne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I'm a southern African American & I love collard greens. I made these last night and I have to say that these were absolutely the best I've ever had!!!! The only thing in this recipe that was new to me was the chicken broth and I think that's what made the difference!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Fantastic! My father said these tasted as good as his childhood memories. Per other recommendations, I did add a tablespoon of sugar. Otherwise, these were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Absolutely DELICIOUS! These are the best southern style collards, I have ever put in my mouth! I did 2 bunches of collards so I made a couple of changes: First of all, I only used one ham hock. I used 3 cans of chicken broth. I decided not to double the broth. No need to. I just used a little extra water. I used 2 tablespoons of vinegar and plenty of salt and pepper. I cooked these for two hours. In my opinion, one hour just isn't enough. Plus, the longer you cook them, the better they are!!!! :-) I used two bunches, because collards tend to cook way down. I highly recommend this recipe! You have never had real southern style collards, until you've had THESE! Beth Wilson Raleigh, NC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Wilson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was really good. I followed the recipe exactly. I didn't get very much meat off the ham hocks, so next time I think I will try using smoked neck bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I added onion and garlic cloves...my family ate it all and I had to make more after the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ Speaks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
First time making Collard Greens and it was a big hit. Easy recipe and very tasty. I will be making this again...often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALeach
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I love collards. I cook the hamhocks for about an hour or so depending on the size of the hamhocks before adding the collards. I like my hamhocks very tender and falling off the bone. I also add 2 to 4 of a tablespoons of sugar to take away the bitter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this recipe for New Years Day. I turned out great. I followed it as stated but added 1 to 2 TBSP of sugar with all the other ingredients. Everyone enjoyed it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Hickcox Cyr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Springs, Maryland, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States