Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
These collards were excellent. There were people at our house who said they usually don't like greens and they really enjoyed these. I added a little brown sugar as some have suggested. This will definitely be our "go-to" recipe for collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClovisLorax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
These turned out great. I did however add a TBS of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is SO yummy! I followed the recipe but put in some of my own additions. I couldn't find any ham hocks so I just used a small ham cut up into slices. I boiled the ham slices in water beef broth for 45 minutes before I added the collards. I also chopped up half a onion and 2 jalepenos. For spices I added cayenne pepper and creole seasoning...I don't have measurments I did it by sight and smell. They came out PERFECT..not too soggy or too crunchy! We are going to eat them tommorrow with pinto beans, cornbread and mashed potatos. A perfect southern meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Excellent! The best collards I've ever made! I think the chicken broth makes a huge difference. For the vinegar, I substituted about 1 tsp. lemon juice, and it gave the dish just the right amount of "snap."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very good. I let it cook longer than a hour. I like it tender. We ate it with our new Years hoppin john!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willnikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
good recipe although mine come out too salty for my taste...that was probably my wrong doing. They do sell collard greens already cleaned and cut in big bags at Wal-mart. I discovered this after I made them. I will definitely give this another try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Excellent. Lots of flavor in the pot liquor. I made sure not to overcook them so they could rest in the liquor and absorb as much flavor as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Coxwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Yemassee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I've never mad collard greens before but wanted to make the traditional new years day meal. They were terrific. My friend who is not a collard eater had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
DELICIOUS!! That sums it up in one word! My husband of 34 years if from the north and would NEVER touch greens from the south. I convinced him to take one bite, and he was hooked. I wanted to take a picture of him sitting at the table with collard greens on his plate. I did make a couple of changes or rather additions. I added some sugar, some Balsamic vinegar, crushed red pepper flakes, a pinch of baking soda and just a splash of lemon juice. This recipe is just delicious! A true southern dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States