Southern Yank Pulled Pork BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Loved it and will definitely make again!! I tweeked it alittle by instead using only 1/2 cup onions, no celery, 1 cup juice off the meat (cooked earlier in crock pot) instead of water, only 3/4 tsp chili powder, and cayenne pepper to taste rather than hot pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Hi all, I'm the guy who contributed this recipe but no longer have the ability to access the account due to a hacker lol. Anyway, I wanted to address the consistency of the sauce. Yes, it's a bit watery, but I have a great fix. After removing the pork shoulder from the crock to shred it, use an immersion blender on the sauce remaining in the pot. Just whizz it all up. This will not only thicken the sauce but also more evenly distribute the flavors. Once done, add the shredded pork back to the pot. If you don't have an immersion blender, get one lol. Kidding. A regular blender would work too. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishBoyCooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was the bomb.com. So many people asked for the recipe after the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This recipe is pretty good! I grew up on carolina bbq so I can't give this 5 stars.... but for bbq from a slow cooker and not a bbq pit this is awesome Here are my mods: Used Sweet Baby Rays Maple Sugar bbq sauce and left out the honey and brown sugar. it was plenty sweet enough I dumped about half a bottle of hot sauce into my pot before it had enough kick to it I left out the celery Added a few splashes of white vinegar and maybe a teaspoon of spicy brown mustard this turned out so well I'll probably make it again for a fourth of july party I'm going to. DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I need to make this again and not have it in the crock pot so long. I had to have it in there for about 10 hours on low and it was a bit over cooked. Still tasted pretty great though! However, next time I won't add as much water b/c it was a bit too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelly Felly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This is so flavorful. I used it in the Barbecue Lasagna recipe on this site. To thicken up the standing crockpot sauce, I ladled it into a bowl and mixed with a tad more plain bbq sauce. Didn't take much to get it to an ideal consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is absolutely wonderful. I used only 1 teaspoon of chili powder and omitted the hot sauce. I did find the sauce to be watery but after the pork was finished cooking I simply transferred the sauce to a saucepan and let it "cook down" on low heat and it thickened naturally and I was left with a wonderful sauce that was just perfect. The pork was so tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Wylie-Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Fantastic recipe, the family absolutely loved it. I was out of honey but substituted it with maple syrup, still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Thank you so much for a great, homemade recipe for pulled pork! It is absolutely delicious; I love a sweet BBQ sauce with pork...guests can always add the the spice to their own comfort level later. I will use this as my staple pulled pork recipe!! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States