Southern Yank Pulled Pork BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is a great recipe and couldn't be any easier! I did find it to be a bit on the sweet side. I used Sriricha instead of Tobasco. I think next time I will add the liquid smoke, as a previous review recommended. But it was delicious, all-in-all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Sauce a little thin; transferred it to a skillet and thickened with cornstarch. Tastes awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
We loved it! However, we're only rating 4/5 stars simply b/c we wished it were saucier. After cooking, I pulled the pork out of the liquid, shredded it, then spooned a little of the liquid back over it. Then I poured a little extra BBQ sauce over the top (we use Frank's BBQ wing sauce), then mixed together. We served it on grilled garlic rolls with ranch slaw. Definitely the best recipe we've ever used and it's going in the keep pile. My 6-year-old son said he gave it 10 stars and ate two sandwiches. Thank you so much for sharing this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I'm a new cook and made this recipe for the first time and my boyfriend loved it! I don't have a slower cooker so I made it in the oven and it still came out GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
My BF and I really like this recipe. I used a sweet and sour BBQ sauce. It turned out a little sweet, I would definatly use a richer smokey BBQ sauce next. As said in by others the sauce was really runny. I would reduce the amount of water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is absolutely divine! My husband & kids agree 100%. I am giving it a 2nd go tonight using the recipe just as is. The 1st time I made the recipe a few weeks ago, it created a bit too much liquid but I just boiled it down in a separate pot & then drizzled it on the sandwiches. Didn't want to waste any of that delicious sauce! Tonight I added a bit more meat - it is smelling wonderful. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Wow, this was outstanding!! I made this nearly to a T, just added more garlic, and a little less water. This was my first time making pulled pork, and what a hit. I HIGHLY recommend making this. Cooked on low from 8am-5pm while I was at work, it took 3 minutes to shred and done! Totally making this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Great flavor and very easy! I recommend this recipe over the root beer one on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Yummy....I only added a little water to thin out the sauce....1 c. would have been too much and too watery. I actually made the sauce the night before and store in the fridge overnight. Put the meat and sauce in the crockpot the next morning and let it go. Leftovers freeze woonderful! Eating them tonight...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Loved it and will definitely make again!! I tweeked it alittle by instead using only 1/2 cup onions, no celery, 1 cup juice off the meat (cooked earlier in crock pot) instead of water, only 3/4 tsp chili powder, and cayenne pepper to taste rather than hot pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States