Southern Yank Pulled Pork BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
It becomes Yankee want to use beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Absolutely delicious! I left out the celery because I don't care for but it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Brotherton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
i made this for a large group and everyone raved, asked for the recipe and had it for leftover lunch the next day. It was agreed that it worked cold as well as hot. I used the allrecipes adjustment to make the recipe for 10. The only changes I made was to cut water done to 1/2 Cup (called for 1 & 2/3 C) but it could have got without it completely, and I was out of celery. We all agreed that any more water would have made it too thin and no one missed the celery. Oh yeah.. I also traded half the ketchup for tomato paste. Next time I would additive a bit more garlic only because I personally love garlic but that's apersonal choice. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnann Johnson

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
My daughter asked all day what was cooking because it smelled so good! When it came to dinner, she says "I love this chicken!" Needless to say but this is a hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Rubeck Ward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Genoa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Creston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
My boyfriend has made this recipe many times since we first tried it. We love it, and it was the only crock pot left empty at a big get together he once brought it to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
really good, made as written, forgot the salt and pepper, didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Very good recipe. This is the first time I have made pulled pork in a slow cooker. Normally I make it in my smoker. I make a new recipe exactly as written, then if I feel changes should be made I do it on the next time I make it. I do not feel it is right to make changes then rate it with the changes made. With that said, I admit I made a change in making this recipe. I did not add the water and there was plenty of sauce. Will definitely use this recipe again. Thank you BarleyJack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
It's tasty, but there was way too much liquid and it had to be drained off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I would've given this 5-stars, but the 1 cup of water would've diminished the flavor and made the sauce very thin and runny. Fortunately I know enough about slow cooking foods to know that the meat cooking in that environment would produce enough liquids on it's own to thin out (but not too much) the thick consistency of the sauce mix. Had I added the 1 cup of water called for in the recipe it would've had a watered down flavor and been too soupy. If you feel you must add 1 cup of liquid, I would suggest something like french onion soup or beef broth to add flavor, not water the flavor down. That being said, the flavor of this is the best pulled pork recipe I've tried to date. Definitely won't be looking any further - thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Made this and enjoyed it with my family. This dish was delicious. Since I cook everything from scratch i substituted the bottle BBQ sauce and the ketchup, with my own BBQ that contains homemade ketchup. This was enjoyed by all and I even had to hide a bit of the leftovers just so I could have some the next day, it went that fast. I will definitely make this again and again, and I will make this whenever we go to a BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy_richelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States