Southern Yank Pulled Pork BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
My daughter asked all day what was cooking because it smelled so good! When it came to dinner, she says "I love this chicken!" Needless to say but this is a hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Rubeck Ward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Genoa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Creston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
My boyfriend has made this recipe many times since we first tried it. We love it, and it was the only crock pot left empty at a big get together he once brought it to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
really good, made as written, forgot the salt and pepper, didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Very good recipe. This is the first time I have made pulled pork in a slow cooker. Normally I make it in my smoker. I make a new recipe exactly as written, then if I feel changes should be made I do it on the next time I make it. I do not feel it is right to make changes then rate it with the changes made. With that said, I admit I made a change in making this recipe. I did not add the water and there was plenty of sauce. Will definitely use this recipe again. Thank you BarleyJack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
It's tasty, but there was way too much liquid and it had to be drained off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I would've given this 5-stars, but the 1 cup of water would've diminished the flavor and made the sauce very thin and runny. Fortunately I know enough about slow cooking foods to know that the meat cooking in that environment would produce enough liquids on it's own to thin out (but not too much) the thick consistency of the sauce mix. Had I added the 1 cup of water called for in the recipe it would've had a watered down flavor and been too soupy. If you feel you must add 1 cup of liquid, I would suggest something like french onion soup or beef broth to add flavor, not water the flavor down. That being said, the flavor of this is the best pulled pork recipe I've tried to date. Definitely won't be looking any further - thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Made this and enjoyed it with my family. This dish was delicious. Since I cook everything from scratch i substituted the bottle BBQ sauce and the ketchup, with my own BBQ that contains homemade ketchup. This was enjoyed by all and I even had to hide a bit of the leftovers just so I could have some the next day, it went that fast. I will definitely make this again and again, and I will make this whenever we go to a BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy_richelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This was just ok for me, however my daughter really liked it. Hearing all the comments about the thickness of the sauce(or lack of), I only put in 1/2 cup of water instead of a cup. It still had too much liquid, I even used the immersion blender after taking out the meat(as BarleyJack,the chef of this recipe)suggested in a comment. I also strained out the oil on top. Too much work for something that is just alright and not amazing for me. I'll be looking for another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
A very easy recipe. There was (in my opinion) too much liquid in the pot so I drained and saved the sauce before pulling the meat apart. I then added some sauce back after pulling the meat apart, then kept the leftovers for those who like to add more sauce. It was very moist and sweet. I used Sweet Baby Ray's bbq sauce so may omit the brown sugar next time. All in all a good recipe and it will be added to my 'recipe box'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I made this for the first tie this weekend. My husband loved it so much he went out and bought two more pork shoulders. It was a little runny for our tastes, so next time I will omit some of the water. We also added a 1/4 cup A1 sauce. We will also try one with a little root beer. It was even better the second day. Will recommend this recipe to everyone I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Bevins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States