Southern Yank Pulled Pork BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
USE ROOTBEER!!I made this the other day. It was actually my second time. This time I substituted some of the water with a good rootbeer used a little honey bourbon(don't worry, the alcohol cooks out) and some honey, cut back on the sugar a little bit and balanced out the sweetness with some hot sauce and red pepper flakes. It was much much better the second time around. Hope someone trys my version and I hope you like it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I put this on before church and after watching a couple a couple of football games when we got home, we totaled it. It was so tender it fell apart as I was getting it out of the crockpot, dropping back in and splashing the juices all over the place, including my Sunday pants! The only change I made was to add some Liquid Smoke. This is a definite favorite in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcaf36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Excellent!! Used a little less water for a slightly thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was the best pulled pork we have tried. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This recipe was awesome! We really enjoyed it! Thanks so much for sharing it :) We definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made this yesterday exactly as written. Smelled really good. Had some rolls to make like bbq sandwiches. It didnt come out as thick as I thought it would. Maybe next time I will reserve some of the bbq sauce or not add the water. But overall, it was a really good flavor. We had lots left cuz I made a 5lb roast for 3 of us. So we will be eating it again tonight. Just trying to figure what to eat it with...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
this was my first slow cooker recipe, and it was awesome, my husband said it is a keeper! Gail, Beverly, MA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Wow, this was outstanding!! I made this nearly to a T, just added more garlic, and a little less water. This was my first time making pulled pork, and what a hit. I HIGHLY recommend making this. Cooked on low from 8am-5pm while I was at work, it took 3 minutes to shred and done! Totally making this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This recipe is pretty good! I grew up on carolina bbq so I can't give this 5 stars.... but for bbq from a slow cooker and not a bbq pit this is awesome Here are my mods: Used Sweet Baby Rays Maple Sugar bbq sauce and left out the honey and brown sugar. it was plenty sweet enough I dumped about half a bottle of hot sauce into my pot before it had enough kick to it I left out the celery Added a few splashes of white vinegar and maybe a teaspoon of spicy brown mustard this turned out so well I'll probably make it again for a fourth of july party I'm going to. DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States