Southern Turnip Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Mine came out slightly bitter also - I wonder why? I don't think there is anything wrong w the recipe, I think either some turnips are just bitter OR over cooking/undercooking may contribute some weird chemical change???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Be careful not to put too much garlic or salt. Also, keep the heat medium-low during the simmer stage or not enough water will evaporate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I followed this recipe pretty closely, only changes I made were i used at least 4 cups of turnips, sub'd chicken broth for the vegetable broth, and sub'd cilantro for the parsley. Even though I used more turnips, it still turned out a bit wet. I let it simmer for as long as I could, to try to get the moisture to evaporate, but had to take it off when the turnips were getting too done. Other than being a bit wet, it tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is my first review of recipes on this site, having discovered cooking later in life [56]. I used vegetable stock instead of the buillion cube and water, but otherwise followed the recipe. I had never had turnips before, but after being married for 33 years my husband finally told me that he liked turnips so I tried a recipe. I have to say that during the cooking process I kept tasting and I kept thinking, OMG, dirty socks floating in cloudy water. And then I added the sour cream, and the dish was transformed, and we couldn't slurp it up fast enough! Thank you Jenka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I have never tried turnip before, but this recipe looked good...was very disappointed. It was very bitter and no one would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
We loved this. I didn't have vegetable bouillon cube so used chicken instead. Vegetable was very tender and tasty and a different way to use tasty turnips. I would like to mash this with potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This is wonderful and tasty! I omitted the onion because my crew doesn't care for them, and it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
delicious, we had never made turnips before, very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Tried this with parsnip instead - got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was excellent! I was worried that the bouillon would make it too "vegetable soup-ish" flavored, but this was delicious! I totally forgot the cheddar cheese but didn't miss it at all. The sour cream adds a nice flavor - I used light sour cream, and since I omitted the cheese this turned out very healthy and delicious! Thanks, Jenka!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States