Southern Turnip Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This recipe was great! We were given some very small turnips from our CSA so I added in some redskin potatoes and diced sweet potatoes to fill out the dish. As other reviewers suggested, I added the sour cream and cheese and then put it all in a baking dish, topped with more cheese. A nice side dish to our meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This was definitely one of the best ways I've had turnips! Easy and flavorful. I had fresh, smallish (3-inch) turnips, so that may have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
My family loved them i cooked them longer but other than that did it all as written..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi’s Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartselle, Alabama, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
OMG! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie prestidge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Bayfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Absolutely delicious. Even my husband liked it...and trust me that's a hard one to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I had some turnips in a locally purchased organic produce box.. I had never had turnips before, and when I tasted one as I peeled it, I didn't care for it. It honestly made me scared to taste it after I had cooked them! Well, I am glad that I did! I made a few alterations because I didn't have the right amount of turnips that the recipe called for. Therefore, my ingredients were thirded. I also didn't measure the cheese that I put in, nor the sour cream. Once I tasted them after they were done, I noticed they tasted more like broccoli and cheese than the bitter turnip flavor I had noticed when tasting them raw. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuietPoet2004

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I did not use the white cheddar cheese, just the usual supermarket shredded cheddar cheese, but I am now a turnip lover! Thank you! The dish resembles potatoes, but the taste is so much more interesting and the texture is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I am not a turnip lover but they grow so well in my garden! This was actually quite enjoyable. It is so far my favorite way to fix them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I got some turnips from my parents and had no idea what to do with them, so I tried this. It. Was. Awesome! Even my anti-turnip husband tried them and deemed them "not too bad" (which is HUGE coming from him.) I did have a problem with the water evaporating, so next time I think I'll drain them. I used Greek yogurt, because that's all I had, and it was great. These were super easy and tasty - I'll definitely be making them again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This recipe is deeelicious! I did use chicken broth as others have and I added 1/2 tsp. of sugar to the broth while boiling. The sour cream on this is amazing. I didn't have any parsley so I lightly sauteed some of the turnip greens and some kale in 1 1/2 Tbl of bacon drippings. I topped it off with the greens. Voila- I had lunch! It was so easy. Thank you for making this vegetable more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States