Southern Turnip Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made it twice and both times it was a disappointment. Bitter, soggy, and not a whole lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This recipe was the first time my husband and I had ever had turnips- it was great and we really enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALLIKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I rarely follow a recipe word for word, including this one. I sautéed the onions and garlic, added the bullion granules, potatoes and turnips. I didn't have cheddar. So, I used Emmental. It smelled great and tasted just fabulous. I will be making this one again. The entire family enjoyed it including my 3 and 4 year old veggie haters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie Troch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley's Cooking Adventures
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I made this recipe last night because I had a lot of turnips on hand and wasn't sure what to do with them. This recipe is quick, simple, healthy and tastes great! Boiling and simmering the turnips in the water and veggie bouillon creates the perfect texture, not too mushy and not too crunchy. The melted cheese on top makes this dish comforting and belly warming. Thanks for the awesome recipe! PS You can check it on my blog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I really enjoyed having turnips this way, but I couldn't give it 5 stars because I changed it a bit (like I usually do with all recipes. First off I used a chicken bouillon cube, with a little bit more water (10-12 oz)... I kinda wish I would have used the 8 oz, even though I had more than 3 cups of turnips. I completely left out the cheese, sour cream, and parsley, but substituted some oregano, as well as a garlic blend spice (about 2 tsp.) Turned out great! We had this with sauteed beet greens, mashed potatoes (1/2 new pots, 1/2 sweet potatoes) as well as the recipe on here for "comforting cube steaks". Paired with a merlot was a yummy, quick, fairly healthy and inexpensive dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanie Tingle
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Very tasty! Even hubby liked it and he hates most veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Picky girls did eat! This was my 1st attempt at turnips and it was a hit with the family. I substituted cilantro for the parsley! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Wow! This was delicious. I was trying to find an alternative to the sugary turnip casseroles I have had in the past and this was it! I used low fat sour cream and sharp cheddar cheese and eyeballed most of the ingredients. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I loved this recipe and will make it again even though my husband was not crazy about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I tried this recipe because we got turnips in my csa and I had no idea what to do with them. This was amazing! I've never really liked turnips, but I'm thinking about going to buy some to remake this as a side for Thanksgiving. I followed the recipe exactly for the most part (even added the parsley, which is a fav in my household), but I used pepper jack instead of cheddar. I'm definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States