Southern Turnip Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Be careful not to put too much garlic or salt. Also, keep the heat medium-low during the simmer stage or not enough water will evaporate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I followed this recipe pretty closely, only changes I made were i used at least 4 cups of turnips, sub'd chicken broth for the vegetable broth, and sub'd cilantro for the parsley. Even though I used more turnips, it still turned out a bit wet. I let it simmer for as long as I could, to try to get the moisture to evaporate, but had to take it off when the turnips were getting too done. Other than being a bit wet, it tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is my first review of recipes on this site, having discovered cooking later in life [56]. I used vegetable stock instead of the buillion cube and water, but otherwise followed the recipe. I had never had turnips before, but after being married for 33 years my husband finally told me that he liked turnips so I tried a recipe. I have to say that during the cooking process I kept tasting and I kept thinking, OMG, dirty socks floating in cloudy water. And then I added the sour cream, and the dish was transformed, and we couldn't slurp it up fast enough! Thank you Jenka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I have never tried turnip before, but this recipe looked good...was very disappointed. It was very bitter and no one would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
We loved this. I didn't have vegetable bouillon cube so used chicken instead. Vegetable was very tender and tasty and a different way to use tasty turnips. I would like to mash this with potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This is wonderful and tasty! I omitted the onion because my crew doesn't care for them, and it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
delicious, we had never made turnips before, very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Tried this with parsnip instead - got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was excellent! I was worried that the bouillon would make it too "vegetable soup-ish" flavored, but this was delicious! I totally forgot the cheddar cheese but didn't miss it at all. The sour cream adds a nice flavor - I used light sour cream, and since I omitted the cheese this turned out very healthy and delicious! Thanks, Jenka!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Delicious! even before the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States