Southern Turnip Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Cindy
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Absolutely delicious. Even my husband liked it...and trust me that's a hard one to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I had some turnips in a locally purchased organic produce box.. I had never had turnips before, and when I tasted one as I peeled it, I didn't care for it. It honestly made me scared to taste it after I had cooked them! Well, I am glad that I did! I made a few alterations because I didn't have the right amount of turnips that the recipe called for. Therefore, my ingredients were thirded. I also didn't measure the cheese that I put in, nor the sour cream. Once I tasted them after they were done, I noticed they tasted more like broccoli and cheese than the bitter turnip flavor I had noticed when tasting them raw. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuietPoet2004

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I did not use the white cheddar cheese, just the usual supermarket shredded cheddar cheese, but I am now a turnip lover! Thank you! The dish resembles potatoes, but the taste is so much more interesting and the texture is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I am not a turnip lover but they grow so well in my garden! This was actually quite enjoyable. It is so far my favorite way to fix them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I got some turnips from my parents and had no idea what to do with them, so I tried this. It. Was. Awesome! Even my anti-turnip husband tried them and deemed them "not too bad" (which is HUGE coming from him.) I did have a problem with the water evaporating, so next time I think I'll drain them. I used Greek yogurt, because that's all I had, and it was great. These were super easy and tasty - I'll definitely be making them again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This recipe is deeelicious! I did use chicken broth as others have and I added 1/2 tsp. of sugar to the broth while boiling. The sour cream on this is amazing. I didn't have any parsley so I lightly sauteed some of the turnip greens and some kale in 1 1/2 Tbl of bacon drippings. I topped it off with the greens. Voila- I had lunch! It was so easy. Thank you for making this vegetable more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
So far this is the best turnip recipe I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Perfect! Will make this again when I have turnips from the CSA box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Doesn't need a cup of water or it will never boil off! It only needs enough to dissolve the cube. Otherwise, perfect! The turnips are sweet and surprisingly good! I recommend this to anyone, even if you think you hate turnips. (Because I thought I did)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H.Otte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States