Southern Turnip Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Yum!!!! Made this almost as directed (had to use beef broth as I had no veggie broth) and used another reviewer's suggestion to put it in oven after completed. I mixed part of the shredded cheese in with the turnips, then put remaining cheese on top. Broiled it for a few minutes until cheese was melted and gooey!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
So good!! My first time trying turnips, and I can't think of a better way to start. Due to my limited pantry, I ended up using chicken bouillon, Mexican shredded cheese blend, and a bit of dried parsley on top. I ended up with a delicious dish that I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Holy mother this was so delicious. Made exactly per the recipe and it put turnips back on the map for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time on Thanksgiving. I didn't have cheddar cheese so I used Parmesan and it was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Didn't have enough turnips so added carrots instead. Nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bullet
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made a bunch of substitutions and it turned out great. Instead of sour cream I used Bulgarian yogurt, and added dill to the broth. At the end after melting the cheese in, I threw in some thinly sliced cucumbers and topped with chives. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This was delicious! And it tasted great even before I added the sour cream, so if I want to eat lighter, the recipe still works fine. It was wonderfully easy too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy FBgames

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! It is delicious! I didn't have vegetable boullion so I used chicken. My husband loved it as well and he's picky about vegetables. His first time having turnips too! Hallelujah something new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
NOT a fan at all of this recipe or of turnips. Nobody in my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Awesome! I doubled it, boiling the chopped greens separately in a broth/water mixture (2.5 cups per pound), and stirred them into the turnips, whuch I drained. I upped the yogurt (sub for sour cream) and spread it into a casserole dish. Sprinkled with extra cheese and baked at around 350 for 12 minutes or so. No salt needed, just some griund pepper. A hit at the fall equinox potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States