Southern Turnip Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
great! wonderful way to use those turnips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was great! My husband and I both enjoyed it. We had fresh turnips from the garden and I've never cooked them before. This was an easy, tasty side dish to compliment our grilled chicken. We didn't have sharp white cheddar but had some pepper jack which added an additional bite. We will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Very tasty. I modified based on what I had and it still turned out great. I substituted garlic scapes for garlic, omitted onions, and omitted the sour cream. I also threw in the chopped turnip greens with the garlic and turnips. Everything cooked up really well. (I cooked it primarily with the lid on). I didn't need any salt or pepper (it was salty enough due to the bouillon) and I just shredded some aged sharp cheddar cheese on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I doubled up the recipe as I had a lot of turnips. I think I should have reduced the liquid just a bit more. I added more sour cream than the recipe asked for. It tasted real good! I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I really enjoyed it! It was creamy, cheesy, with a strong turnip flavor (of course lol). I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
the one cup is important because the turnips release liquid. It doesn't look like its enough, but it is. You can be flexible with the cooking time as long as you test the turnips for doneness. It also makes a difference how you cut the turnips. They should be uniform larger chop 1/2 inch cubes or so. I used real homemade chicken broth instead of water and the vegetable cube. Made the recipe and added some cheese over top and browned in the broiler to finish with the parsley garnish. I have made this three times now and its addicting in some odd way. Plus I think there may be room for layers of additional flavors-like incorporating chopped fresh or dried mushrooms near the end of the cook to absorb any excess liquid--which would solve most of the problems that have cropped up. Turnips pair well with pulled pork from a cuban perspective--this recipe may have some extended future in that direction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Made this last night. My husband brought a lot of turnip roots home and I wanted something more than the usual boring mashed turnips, so I searched and came up with this. The only thing I did differently from the recipe was to use Better Than Bullion, the vegetable variety, and I added the fresh parsley to the turnips a few minutes before done. I then added the sour cream after draining the excess liquid off the turnips, then added some shredded Mexican cheese and mixed lightly till the cheese was melted. My husband said this was the best turnip recipe he has ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Easy to make and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I used the basics of this recipe and it turned out great! Will definitely make again. Tastes very much like cheesy/creamy cauliflower. Love having some way of preparing turnips that my kids will eat! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Our first year growing and eating turnips. This recipe was wonderful, the whole family loved it, and being diabetic the lower carbs compared to white potatoes was an added bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States