Southern Turnip Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I really enjoyed it! It was creamy, cheesy, with a strong turnip flavor (of course lol). I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
the one cup is important because the turnips release liquid. It doesn't look like its enough, but it is. You can be flexible with the cooking time as long as you test the turnips for doneness. It also makes a difference how you cut the turnips. They should be uniform larger chop 1/2 inch cubes or so. I used real homemade chicken broth instead of water and the vegetable cube. Made the recipe and added some cheese over top and browned in the broiler to finish with the parsley garnish. I have made this three times now and its addicting in some odd way. Plus I think there may be room for layers of additional flavors-like incorporating chopped fresh or dried mushrooms near the end of the cook to absorb any excess liquid--which would solve most of the problems that have cropped up. Turnips pair well with pulled pork from a cuban perspective--this recipe may have some extended future in that direction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Made this last night. My husband brought a lot of turnip roots home and I wanted something more than the usual boring mashed turnips, so I searched and came up with this. The only thing I did differently from the recipe was to use Better Than Bullion, the vegetable variety, and I added the fresh parsley to the turnips a few minutes before done. I then added the sour cream after draining the excess liquid off the turnips, then added some shredded Mexican cheese and mixed lightly till the cheese was melted. My husband said this was the best turnip recipe he has ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Easy to make and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I used the basics of this recipe and it turned out great! Will definitely make again. Tastes very much like cheesy/creamy cauliflower. Love having some way of preparing turnips that my kids will eat! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Our first year growing and eating turnips. This recipe was wonderful, the whole family loved it, and being diabetic the lower carbs compared to white potatoes was an added bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This recipe was great! We were given some very small turnips from our CSA so I added in some redskin potatoes and diced sweet potatoes to fill out the dish. As other reviewers suggested, I added the sour cream and cheese and then put it all in a baking dish, topped with more cheese. A nice side dish to our meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This was definitely one of the best ways I've had turnips! Easy and flavorful. I had fresh, smallish (3-inch) turnips, so that may have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
My family loved them i cooked them longer but other than that did it all as written..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula West

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
OMG! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie prestidge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Bayfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States