Southern Sweet Potato Bread with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Very Yummy! I made a few changes from what others had done. I did brown sugar and white sugar. I added some ground ginger as well. I sprayed my mini loaf pan then coated it with cinnamon sugar. I didn't add rasins becasue no one likes them but me...but I can see how good they would be! I will try cranberries next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keenesburg, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very good and moist bread! Followed the recipe exactly except I didn't use rasins. So easy and comes out great. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Delish!! I made them in a cupcake pan because I like the individual portions (plus easier to eat as grab and go snack or pack in a lunch box). Baked for about 40-45 minutes in greased cupcake pan at same temp. Great way to use up leftover sweet potatoes! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Everyone in my house were lined up waiting for the bread/cake to come out of the oven. You can smell the nutmeg and the whole kitchen smells like holiday time. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Great sweet bread! I didn't use as much sweet potatoes as called for, and next time I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Delicious! I made muffins instead of bread and they were brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeccalagnew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toccoa, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
We liked this pretty much, but the flavor didn't really overwhelm me. I guess I prefer the stronger taste of pumpkin - the sweet potato taste doesn't really come through at all. I actually added some shredded coconut to it which I thought was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
A very good recipe, yielding a moist, cake-like texture, gently spiced & lightly sweet. I chose to leave out the raisins & put the chopped pecans into a streusel crumb topping. I added the topping in the last 15 minutes of baking (take care to not press bread down). The next (& 3rd) time I make this, I'll reduce oil by 2 Tbsp., as I was able to detect oiliness in the original recipe. I'll also line the loaf pan with buttered wax paper, as I had the 1st time I made this, for ease of removal. Even if you bake this in a glass (Pyrex) loaf pan, do keep to original suggested temperature, instead of lowering temp. by 25 degrees, as some advise when baking in glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Instead of cooked sweet potatoes, I used left over yams that I made on the BBQ. I also left out the pecans and made the mix in a muffin dish. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would..Excellent!! I did make a few changes I omitted the raisins and nutmeg..I used butter instead of oil and walnuts instead of pecans...I also added the juice of half an orange and a dash of vanilla extract....This was better than my favorite banana bread recipe...Husband took it to work and everyone wanted the recipe....the next time I make it (which will be this weekend) I'm going to make it as a muffin and add some cream cheese frosting to it...Delicious! Thank you for the great recipe! Very moist, even after sitting a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States