Southern Sweet Potato Bread with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I make these all the time. they are great in muffins (small Or Large). Great for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Mmmm, this is good. I love sweet potatoes and usually substitute them in any recipe calling for pumpkin. Because I made a last-minute decision to make this last night, I used a can of organic sweet potato puree (it was a little over a cup, so I just omitted the milk and used the extra potato). My changes...used half white and half brown sugar, whole-grain spelt flour for the AP flour and used pecan meal for 1/2 cup of the flour (just didn't feel like chopping pecans last night), 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup melted butter, and added a couple teaspoons vanilla. I also added some allspice for part of the cinnamon. The house smelled great while it was cooking. I had a piece after it cooled last night and it was pretty good. But this morning, it is great! If you can keep yourself away from it to leave it overnight, you will be rewarded. I'll be making this one again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Great and easy recipe. Along with tasting great, it made the house smell great too. Like others before me I made some changes. I used applesauce instead of oil (because I had none), I also boiled the sweet potatos instead of baking them (to save time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This bread is delicious! My only complaint would be that the baking time was longer than the directions said- but that could just be my oven...anyway, I'll definitely be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was awesome. Light, wonderful taste, and wonderful texture thanks to the sweet potatoes and pecans. I skipped the raisins, substituted half the white sugar with brown sugar, and made 12 generous muffins from the recipe sized for 18 servings. Delicious and much better alternative to cornbread. We ate it with pulled pork and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Delicious. I made some modifications as suggested by other reviewers (half wholemeal flour and half regular flour, half white sugar and half brown sugar, baked sweet potato, cranberries and walnuts instead of raisins and pecans). Next time I would reduce the sugar by half as it was too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I substituted dried cranberries for raisins and baked in muffin tins for 35 minutes, but otherwise followed the recipe. Excellent flavor, not too sweet, moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennie
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very good! I did add a teaspoon of vanilla & used half white & half brown sugar but I'm sure it's great as written too. Thanks for this great recipe Tanya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I had leftover sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving and this recipe was such a sweet surprise! I will definitely be making these again. I baked in a loaf pan and muffin tins and both were just as good. So moist and yummy! I used dried cranberries instead of golden raisins because it is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States