Southern Sweet Potato Bread with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was awesome. Light, wonderful taste, and wonderful texture thanks to the sweet potatoes and pecans. I skipped the raisins, substituted half the white sugar with brown sugar, and made 12 generous muffins from the recipe sized for 18 servings. Delicious and much better alternative to cornbread. We ate it with pulled pork and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Delicious. I made some modifications as suggested by other reviewers (half wholemeal flour and half regular flour, half white sugar and half brown sugar, baked sweet potato, cranberries and walnuts instead of raisins and pecans). Next time I would reduce the sugar by half as it was too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I substituted dried cranberries for raisins and baked in muffin tins for 35 minutes, but otherwise followed the recipe. Excellent flavor, not too sweet, moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennie
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very good! I did add a teaspoon of vanilla & used half white & half brown sugar but I'm sure it's great as written too. Thanks for this great recipe Tanya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I had leftover sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving and this recipe was such a sweet surprise! I will definitely be making these again. I baked in a loaf pan and muffin tins and both were just as good. So moist and yummy! I used dried cranberries instead of golden raisins because it is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
It was really good. I made both the bread and with the revised instructions, the muffins. Both of them were good: and they were better much later than when I made them. Thanks to all who reviewed and offered suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Very Yummy! I made a few changes from what others had done. I did brown sugar and white sugar. I added some ground ginger as well. I sprayed my mini loaf pan then coated it with cinnamon sugar. I didn't add rasins becasue no one likes them but me...but I can see how good they would be! I will try cranberries next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keenesburg, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very good and moist bread! Followed the recipe exactly except I didn't use rasins. So easy and comes out great. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Delish!! I made them in a cupcake pan because I like the individual portions (plus easier to eat as grab and go snack or pack in a lunch box). Baked for about 40-45 minutes in greased cupcake pan at same temp. Great way to use up leftover sweet potatoes! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States