Southern Sweet Potato Bread with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
YUM! These loaves are just FULL of the nuts and raisins, and are very moist. Such a really great combination of subtle flavors! I made a few substitutions with great results: I used pumpkin pie spice for nutmeg, 1/3 white sugar & 2/3 light brown, half oil & half applesauce, and used baked sweet potatoes: bake on parchment because they're messy! Prick potatoes, bake about 1hr 40min at 350F. The flesh pretty much pulls away from the skin - put the flesh in a bowl and give it a quick stir with a wisk and it's ready to go. I baked mine in mini-loaf pans (about 5-1/2" x 3-1/2" x 2") - this recipe makes 4 loaves at about 1 generous cup batter per loaf - for 50 minutes. Perfect! These will be holiday gifts for sure (and plenty for us, too!). For a zippy version, I might try dried cranberries in place of the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
This was really good. A neat way to use sweet potatos! Instead of all white sugar, I used 1/2 brown sugar (ran out of white!). I also lined the pan with wax paper which is a good trick for these moist quick breads. Make sure to really mix in the sweet potatoes. Will make again for sure -- my one year loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
This is the BEST homemade bread I've ever made/had! I made it just like the recipe said, except that I used walnuts instead of pecans and I made them muffin size, instead of in a loaf. Baked for approx. 35 minutes (since they were smaller than a loaf). AWESOME RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
Yummm! This very easy recipe was a hit with my family and company. It's very moist and easy to make. I should have read the recipe a little closer. I thought it was going to be like a yeast bread but was more of the consistency like a zucchini bread. Be sure to allow for the 70 minutes baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
This is a delicious bread! I made a few changes that worked well. Used 1/2 cup wheat flour for part of the flour measure; 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 c. sugar; egg beaters for the eggs and walnuts instead of pecans. Since I cooked several sweet potatoes in the fall I measured out 1 cup servings and froze to enjoy this bread any time of the year. Remember using Splenda will cut down the baking time somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
I've made tons of recipes from this site, and most are really good, but this one blows them all away. It has tons of flavor, great consistency, etc. The only thing I changed from the directions was to add almonds as well (since I was low on pecans) and to add dried cranberries, sultanas, etc., instead of just raisins. Either way the bread itself is really top notch; what you add to it is just icing on the cake, so to speak. Fabulous recipe; will be one of our family's favories I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Very good, grankids like it. I used half brown, half white sugars, also added a tsp. of vanilla, half applesauce and half margarine instead of oil. I didn't have golden raisins so I used dark raisins instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
If you like pumpkin bread, then your socks will be knocked off with this Southern Sweet Potato Bread with pecans. The blend of sweet potato, pecans, and sweet spices in this moist loaf makes your mouth water!!! This bread is a great for a Fall brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
A very good recipe, yielding a moist, cake-like texture, gently spiced & lightly sweet. I chose to leave out the raisins & put the chopped pecans into a streusel crumb topping. I added the topping in the last 15 minutes of baking (take care to not press bread down). The next (& 3rd) time I make this, I'll reduce oil by 2 Tbsp., as I was able to detect oiliness in the original recipe. I'll also line the loaf pan with buttered wax paper, as I had the 1st time I made this, for ease of removal. Even if you bake this in a glass (Pyrex) loaf pan, do keep to original suggested temperature, instead of lowering temp. by 25 degrees, as some advise when baking in glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I usually never make loaves, but this was great. My co-workers gobbled it up. It is moist and flavorful. I didn't use raisins, just a few extra pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States