Southern Sweet Potato Bread with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This bread was so delish! And what a great way of using up leftover mashed sweet potatoes. I'm not a fan of raisins so I replaced them with dried sweetened cranberries and I replaced the pecans with finely chopped walnuts. Also, I was out of eggs so I replaced the eggs with "flax seed eggs" (2 tbsp ground flax seed mixed with 6 tbs of hot water = 2 eggs). SO GOOD! I served this bread the next day warmed up with apple butter on top. I will definately be keeping this recipe in my apron pocket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
i felt like this might be a bit strange, but i was totally wrong!! this bread was really delicious and wasn't overwhelmingly sweet. i will absolutely make this again! yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I LOVE sweet potatoes and I LOVED this bread! Made some with raisins and some without- good either way. Substituted applesauce for the oil and used half whole wheat flour and it turned out great! Dense and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
A delicious sweet bread. This is a traditional Southern recipe. I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I always forget to review recipes..but no this one...not this time!! How delicious!!! While I want to give credit to the recipe, I did make a few changes that may have put my results over-the-top. I used coconut oil for health reasons but I think it leads to better baked products. Secondly, my mashed sweet potatoes were from last nights dinner and already had a little brown sugar, maple syrup, orange and cinnamon extracts, butter, nutmeg and cream. Also, I used more of the sweet potato mixture than was called for just because I wanted to use it all up. I would say I used 25% more potato than the recipe called for. I also put in a smidge more sugar than required. Then, after spraying my stoneware bread pans, I placed a mixture of sugar and cinnamon over the spray before putting the batter into the pans. I used no nuts or raisins. I put dried cranberries in one loaf but not the other. The taste difference was negligable. Folks, I baked delicious quick breads often and this was the best I have ever, ever made. The winner! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
A nice breakfast bread. Something different, though not spectacular. A good use for leftover mashed sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was awesome I used dried cranberries instead of the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I made muffins instead of bread with this recipe......it made for a really great muffin for the fall! Keep in mind they are not your typical "sweet" muffin/bread recipe though. I made the crumb topping mixture from the banana crumb muffins on this website to make these muffins a bit sweeter. I tried them with and without the crumb topping and these muffins are definently MUCH better with the crumb topping on them. If I ever made them in a bread form I would be sure to add the crumb mixture to it as well. Overall these were good muffins so I gave them a 4 - would have given a 5 but w/o the topping they are not a 5. Hope this tip helps others!! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This bread is not too sweet. It is not quite what you expect in a dessert bread but is good served with a ham or pork dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
This is a delicious bread! I made a few changes that worked well. Used 1/2 cup wheat flour for part of the flour measure; 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 c. sugar; egg beaters for the eggs and walnuts instead of pecans. Since I cooked several sweet potatoes in the fall I measured out 1 cup servings and froze to enjoy this bread any time of the year. Remember using Splenda will cut down the baking time somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States