Southern Style Thanksgiving Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I made these beans for Thanksgiving and they were a huge hit. As this dish was one of several sides I cut the recipe in half. I'm sorry I did as there were NO left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
As in a lot of recipes, your technique matters. I don't usually put onions in water, just gets rid of their taste to me. Great Recipe!!! I just changed the technique a bit. I used chicken broth instead of water, added the ham hock, seasonings, and only 3 TBS vinegar, stuck them in the crock pot to reduce an hour and half. Sauted the garlic and onions in olive oil then added them, covered and reduced more then threw in the green beans. Bacon bits were last, just before serving and tore up regular bacon. Excellent Recipe thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefTexasGirl:)

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Del Rio, Texas, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
it takes the hamhock a little longer than the greenbeansor the greenbean will be a little to mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
These are great and when I get them to this point, I like to add 2 Tablespoons of butter, 3 - 4 Tbsp of dark brown sugar and enough Worshestershire sauce to melt the brown sugar and warm it all enough to coat the green beans. Wonderful!! Try it, you'll Like it!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Garlic was the one ingredient that my Granny used that I could never identify - thanks to you a mystery has been solved! I LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Don't change one thing. Substituting bacon for the ham hock changes the recipe entirely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I ended up adjusting this recipe to our taste because it did not have flavor. I used two 3lb cans Hanover green beans and turkey smoked sausage instead of a ham hock and half the salt(sea salt). I ended up pouring half the water out. The adjustments were made after the recipe simmered. I added about 4tbs of butter, and about 2tbs of Knorr Chicken Flavor Bouillon, and 1tbs of Italian Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by jc812
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I am a southern food snob... and these green beans hit the spot! I used 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar instead of the white distilled. I think this tastes better with the beans. I backed off a little on the salt, added seasoned salt, and two splashes of liquid smoke and Worcestershire sauce each. Oh yes. and a pinch of crushed red peppers. I cooked the concoction in a pressure cooker which saved on the time. 25 mins on pressure and your beans are done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jc812

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was a great recipe. I made some subtle changes, though. I reduced the water, threw in a second ham hock (they came a pair to the package), eliminated the garlic, and substituted cider vinegar for white and reduced it to 1 1/2 tablespoons. I cooked that down for about 2 hours before adding the beans. I left them on for a slow simmer for about 2 hours. Letter perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
love fresh green beans with ham, only difference in my recipe is we use new potatoes in addition and cut back just a bit with vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States