Southern Style Thanksgiving Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This is a really good recipe. I've also found others that I liked, so I've blended them together a little. I use 2# of frozen beans, add a couple tsp of sugar, 6 slices of crisp thick bacon (I can't easily find ham hock in MN) w/grease, 1/3 onion, plus the garlic, vinegar, salt & pepper, and cook it in a crock pot on low for 6-8 hrs in 2-1/2 cups of chicken stock. Other than the ham hock, these are as close to the beans I loved when I lived in GA that I've been able to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Having grown up in the south I thought these were absolutely delicious. I just made another pot recently and I can't stop eating them.. I don't know why some of the reviewers are hung up on the vinegar.. it adds a perfect tartness which really complements the salty ham flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Best green beans ever. They only thing I changed was not to add vinegar. I cooked them in a crock pot and will be making them again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Tasted like Grandma's! I don't like as much salt, so I put less than the recipe, but other than that, I followed it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I make these with Pole beans. Unfortunately, they are only available part of the year. I always make them for the holidays. They are great, sometimes at Thanksgiving if I don't shop early I have to go to a few stores to find them . I use chicken broth instead of water and I leave out the vinegar. The ham hock is kinda gross, but its a must for great flavor. This recipe has been on my family's table for as long as I can remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Loved them! I made a few modifications: 1 smoked turkey leg versus ham hock. Next time I will add 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes to give them a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made these for Christmas dinner and I loved them. I used 4 lbs frozen italian cut greem beans and only used about 3/4 of the vinegar called for. I put all the ingredients in the slow cooker and cooked on high for about 3 hours, then reduced to low for about 3 hours. My fiance and I loved them, the kids didn't like them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
My husband thought this had too much vinegar but everyone else loved it. I thought that the vinegar taste was less when we had them for leftovers the next day. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I omitted the onion but otherwise followed this to a T. Used the washed and trimmed green beans in the package in the produce section to save some time. These were the best green beans I've ever made - now I know that the very long cooking time is the key. They were just great, and couldn't have been easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was really good and I didn't even use any ham or bacon. . This is the recipe I will use from now on. I guess it has to do with the vinegar. You don't taste the vinegar, but it must do something to make them good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States