Southern-Style Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is very good. I don't like onion soup mix, so I sautéed fresh onion before dropping the chops in the pan. Do yourself a favor and don't use any salt until the serving table--I added a very little bit of garlic salt and this was WAY salty, even with no soup mix. Thanks; this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This is very good but be careful of the salt you add. I made a booboo by taking a short cut and added a salt, pepper, garlic seasoning which made it way too salty. I recovered it by adding flour and water making a thicker gravy. My family never noticed my blunder :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Delicious. I made it just as described except for substituting milk for the heavy cream. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight after finding it and much to my surprise my husband thought it was delicious. I used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of cream and did not add garlic since I don't like it. The sauce is really delicious, I am going to try it in the crock pot with a pork loin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Onion soup mix and mushroom soup base gave it way too salty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Very good. I'll lay off the extra salt next time, and maybe even go easy on the soup mix. Overall, these were very good and I liked the sauce a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelguerrero1740

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Central Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This recipe is delicious! Followed it exactly. Really quick and easy. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
My girlfriend got tired of all the ethnic dishes I'd been making and kept asking me to make 'country cooking'. So I found this last week and made it. I had some issues with cooking the pork chops because I could only cook two at a time, so I had to keep adding oil to the pan and still ended up with some real bad burnt pieces in the sauce. Other than that, these were awesome. We had enough for 3 meals and finished them off in two days. I made this with a great potato salad dish from the site and served them over rice. I had some issues with the sauce and went a little off track trying to eyeball the wine and cream, but it turned out pretty good. I'm thinking of making these again tonight and imagine I'll do a little better the second time around. Keeping this recipe for future use. EDIT - wanted to throw in that I had 7 pork chops and ended up using 2 bags of onion mix to really get it in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
WOW! These are EXCELLENT Pork Chops! I did take the advice of another reviewer and did everything up to the end of the recipe but then stuck them in my dutch oven and put them into the oven for an hour at 250. They just feel apart! No knife needed!!!! Then I made a gravy from the brown bits left in my fry pan by using a little butter to get all the bits up then added some flour, just a teaspoon at a time to thicken. Then I added some of the same wine in, prob. 3/4 cup and brought to a boil and lastly I turned it to low and added some cream to make a gravy. (Used all the same ingred. of the pork chops besides the garlic for the gravy. Although I did add some salt and pepper to the gravy.) These pork chops are truely one of my favorites now!!!! My son even said it was just like a meal from a fine dining restaurant!!! I will make again and again! Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Added mushrooms and reduced the wine to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Cajun Spiced Pork Chops

These tasty chops make an easy weeknight dinner with spices you have on hand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States