Southern Style Pig Tails Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I've tried this recipe because it seemed the closest to what my grandfather used, but instead of the basic seasonings I added some thyme, distilled vinegar, and garlic powder. Plus more salt and crushed peppers than indicated in the original recipe. Also I used a crock pot instead. Turned out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I have not tried this recipe as yet but it sounds amazing. I love salted pig tail and use it in many dishes, it has such an awesome flavour but I've never tried this. I'm going to go out and buy some and try this as soon as possible. I am also from the Caribbean. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LENEE1030
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I even added EXTRA seasoning but it was still flavorless;despite that it was strangely ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xavier1996

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Very good!! High in fat so dont make it a regular habit but they are awesome. I sprinkled a little cajun seasoning on them before i put them in the oven and i couldnt stop eating them although i knew i should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I wasn't sure what to do with the garlic so I boiled it along with the pig tails. The pig tails came out exactly the way they did in picture, however the meat had no taste. I am not sure how to improve the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Thank you, I always cook pig tails. Only after the boiling point, let cool and remove all bones. I add a package of baby lima's, a large chopped onion,one tsp. garlic and black pepper. Cornbread goes great. I usually freeze a couple containers and serve as a side for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juanita64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I've never had pig tails before.I see them in the store and a friend makes Stone Stew and includes them along with some other "stuff". I think I'll have these along with my blackeyes and collards for New Year's Day. Keryne, you're a true Nubian Soul with your recipes. Keep them coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nubiangrits

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hernando Brownie
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Great Recipe, I served it with turnip Greens and Cornbread. I submitted a pic so look for it to be up sooon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hernando Brownie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hernando, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Great idea, I'm from the Caribbean and we stop at the boiling part, this is an awesome recipe there should be more recipes like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sangre Grande, Sangre Grande, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Hempstead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States