Southern-Style Oven-Fried Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I loved this dish! I have always found fried fish to be a favorite of mine. This was a great healthy alternative. I used fresh redfish fillets my husband caught instead of catfish. The only other change was to reduce the amount of hotsauce to 1 tsp. I have a four yr old who is not good with spicy foods. The breading was crunchy and tasty. This will deffinitely be made again in our house!! Thank you Carina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
OK: this is a keeper. The fish was very crunchy, but absorbed very little of the oil. Recipe made enough coating for about three pounds of fish. Nice kick, but definitely not too spicy hot. We will try coating with other types of fish, maybe chicken fingers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Perfect! I used an extra 1/ 2 pound of catfish and cooked for 25 minutes and it came out great. Leftovers make great sandwiches on a whole wheat bun with mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was a simple and easy recipe to follow. I had all the ingredients on hand and it was a healthy alternative to fried catfish. It was tasty and not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This recipe was fast, easy and good. I hope more people get to try it. I used Tony's as my creole seasoning(I use Tony's on almost everything :-). I made a couple of small modifications. I sprinkle some creole seasoning on the catfish after I pat dried them. I didn't use hot sauce. I added about a quarter of teaspoon of creole seasoning to the egg mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I was afraid this wouldn't come out crispy enough so i added about 10 minutes cooking time. I used tilapia because I recently developed a disgust for catfish (bad experience...) I added an extra teaspoon of creole seasoning (Creole Seasoning Blend from this site) to the cornmeal and a half teaspoon of salt to the egg and hot sauce mixture as I like lots of flava. I rate this excellent, and so did my family, even my husband who scoffed at the idea of 'oven frying'. I will try it out next on company, I believe it's worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I changed the serving to 2, which was enough for 4 fillets. I didn't use ground pepper or hot pepper sauce (I don't like spicey). I also cut back on the Tony's creole seasoning, because as a dry spice it tasted too strong, but I tried again while cooking and added a lot more. I substituted breadcrumbs for the cornmean so maybe that is why it wasn't crispy but I'll try again because we really liked the taste and it was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I find warming up the oil with the oven, helps the crust stay on better. I use this with chicken, and hot dogs as well, works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This one is pure perfection. My wife doesn't like catfish, and there isn't much that I like better. I can cut this recipe in half and stuff myself and let her eat chicken. Cooking time is right on the money, and the coating is excellent. I use half water and half hot sauce with the egg, but it is easy to adjust to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I found this recipe while looking for a oven catfish recipe. I followed the recipe as writen on both catfish and salmon. The fish had a nice crust and was not oily at all. This was enjoyed by both adults and younger children. I will use this recipe frequently. Thanks Carina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Oven-Fried Chicken II

See a delicious, healthier way to make fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States