Southern-Style Oven-Fried Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was a simple and easy recipe to follow. I had all the ingredients on hand and it was a healthy alternative to fried catfish. It was tasty and not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This recipe was fast, easy and good. I hope more people get to try it. I used Tony's as my creole seasoning(I use Tony's on almost everything :-). I made a couple of small modifications. I sprinkle some creole seasoning on the catfish after I pat dried them. I didn't use hot sauce. I added about a quarter of teaspoon of creole seasoning to the egg mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I loved this dish! I have always found fried fish to be a favorite of mine. This was a great healthy alternative. I used fresh redfish fillets my husband caught instead of catfish. The only other change was to reduce the amount of hotsauce to 1 tsp. I have a four yr old who is not good with spicy foods. The breading was crunchy and tasty. This will deffinitely be made again in our house!! Thank you Carina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I was afraid this wouldn't come out crispy enough so i added about 10 minutes cooking time. I used tilapia because I recently developed a disgust for catfish (bad experience...) I added an extra teaspoon of creole seasoning (Creole Seasoning Blend from this site) to the cornmeal and a half teaspoon of salt to the egg and hot sauce mixture as I like lots of flava. I rate this excellent, and so did my family, even my husband who scoffed at the idea of 'oven frying'. I will try it out next on company, I believe it's worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Im not a big fan of fried fish, but hubby said he liked it. He said the fish tasted "cleaner" than fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSY8856
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Very easy and tasty..I made with tilapia instead of catfish and recipe was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSY8856

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was the first time I've ever successfully cooked catfish - not because of this recipe, but because it finally occurred to me to cut each filet into smaller pieces. Still, this recipe was a great place to start! Because of the 3 tablespoons of oil (in this case, "oven-fried" is not a euphemism for "baked"), the coating comes out nice and crispy. We really liked it. I did end up cooking for a few extra minutes, but my oven was evidently built on Mars and I've learned never to trust it. Thanks for the recipe, we'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
The three tablespoons of oil is critical. I used less when I first prepared this dish and did not get the desired crispiness. I tried again with the recommended amount of oil and it made a huge difference. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Perfect! I used an extra 1/ 2 pound of catfish and cooked for 25 minutes and it came out great. Leftovers make great sandwiches on a whole wheat bun with mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
OK: this is a keeper. The fish was very crunchy, but absorbed very little of the oil. Recipe made enough coating for about three pounds of fish. Nice kick, but definitely not too spicy hot. We will try coating with other types of fish, maybe chicken fingers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Oven-Fried Chicken II

See a delicious, healthier way to make fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States