Southern-Style Oven-Fried Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I am amazed how crunchy the coating on this fish gets. My catfish filets were pretty thick so I had to cook about 5 minutes longer than stated. You could actually hear the crunch when biting into this. My only complaint was that they were not salty enough. I'm sure that depends on your creole seasoning. Next time I will add salt to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
These were awesome. I added a little more hot sauce because i like spicy food. Also, cooked for 15 minutes flipped them and cooked for 10 more minutes. They were crispy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leatrice2922
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I will definitely try this again. Instead of using cornmeal I used my regular breading seasoning I would use if I was frying my fish and I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I had to add a couple mins to the time because it wasn't crispy enough for me but other than that it came out really well, sticking this into my recipe box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I really like this recipe. At first I was going to cook it with no grease but I took the advice of another reviewer and put it on the pan as instructed - happy I did that. This was a great, simple way to cook fish and I will be ding it again in the future with all my fish when I want something "fried". My kids really loved it, so I guess it passed the test. I used Louisiana fish fry and it came out fine - little crunchy. Next time I will use the cornmeal to see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. BliSs
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I just finished eating these and I thought they were great. They were easy to make. Because they were baked in the oven, I don't feel like I ruined my diet. I increased the cooking time by about 10 minutes to accommodate thicker fish fillets. I kept it pretty simple and seasoned my fish with season salt, salt and black pepper. I was so ready to eat, I forgot to take a picture. I'll be making these again soon. So, hopefully I remember to snap a pic on the next go round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. BliSs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I found this recipe while looking for a oven catfish recipe. I followed the recipe as writen on both catfish and salmon. The fish had a nice crust and was not oily at all. This was enjoyed by both adults and younger children. I will use this recipe frequently. Thanks Carina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This one is pure perfection. My wife doesn't like catfish, and there isn't much that I like better. I can cut this recipe in half and stuff myself and let her eat chicken. Cooking time is right on the money, and the coating is excellent. I use half water and half hot sauce with the egg, but it is easy to adjust to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Very good! I used tilapia instead of catfish because that's what was on sale, but I think next time I'll use catfish. My family's only complaint was that I put the breading on too thick. Otherwise, it was nice, crispy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I find warming up the oil with the oven, helps the crust stay on better. I use this with chicken, and hot dogs as well, works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I changed the serving to 2, which was enough for 4 fillets. I didn't use ground pepper or hot pepper sauce (I don't like spicey). I also cut back on the Tony's creole seasoning, because as a dry spice it tasted too strong, but I tried again while cooking and added a lot more. I substituted breadcrumbs for the cornmean so maybe that is why it wasn't crispy but I'll try again because we really liked the taste and it was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Oven-Fried Chicken II

See a delicious, healthier way to make fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States