Southern-Style Oven-Fried Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Tried this for dinner family loved it! I served it with corn and sauteed shrip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Proano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
We like this recipe and cooking method so much that we use it almost on a weekly basis. We've done catfish, tilapia, thinly sliced boneless chicken breasts, okra... Okra?!? Yes, okra. My initial experiment with okra came out so well that my husband only wants his okra (his favorite vegetable!) cooked this way now. Hmmm, can green tomatoes be far behind? My only deviation from the recipe as posted is to heat the oiled pans while the oven is preheating; I only use 1 jumbo egg and about 2 Tbsp. of Chipotle Tabasco sauce, and I use Slap Ya Mama Cajun seasoning in place of the Creole, as we like things a bit on the spicy side. I also triple the dry mix and keep it in a jar in the fridge to have handy whenever we want to use it. Thank you, Carina, for a great easy and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This turned out very good. The fish were crisp and not dry inside. I used flounder since my husband doesn't eat catfish. I also did some shrimp by this recipe and they were great. Will definitely make again. Beats all the grease with frying. Healthy and delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Wonderful as is, but if you find catfish to have a gamey flavor as my family does, try marinating in buttermilk for a couple hours before you rinse and proceed with the rest of the recipe. The buttermilk trick also works on any game meat or organ meat like liver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
The combination of seasonings ruined this dish for me. Too much thyme for one thing. It was also somewhat mushy on the bottom even though I baked it another couple of minutes. I also didn't like the idea of spraying the top of the fish with cooking spray. I think I will just broil the catfish with some buttered bread crumbs on top next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This turned out quite crisp, tasting like fried without being greasy. I forgot my hot sauce in the egg this first time. :( I also subbed 1/2 Panko for 1/2 the cornmeal because we don't like just corn meal. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Outstanding; liked by all of my family, including my picky 10 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I am amazed how crunchy the coating on this fish gets. My catfish filets were pretty thick so I had to cook about 5 minutes longer than stated. You could actually hear the crunch when biting into this. My only complaint was that they were not salty enough. I'm sure that depends on your creole seasoning. Next time I will add salt to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
These were awesome. I added a little more hot sauce because i like spicy food. Also, cooked for 15 minutes flipped them and cooked for 10 more minutes. They were crispy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leatrice2922
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I will definitely try this again. Instead of using cornmeal I used my regular breading seasoning I would use if I was frying my fish and I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I had to add a couple mins to the time because it wasn't crispy enough for me but other than that it came out really well, sticking this into my recipe box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Oven-Fried Chicken II

See a delicious, healthier way to make fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States