Southern-Style Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
this is by far the best onion ring recipe i have tried.that nice crunch from the cornmeal is excellent.the spices are perfect and now i'm to full to write any more. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This isn't a bad recipe, I've used it twice. A tad messy the first time, just be careful and make sure the oil doesn't get to hot quick, otherwise the rings fry really quick, and they're not done completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana890

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Good flavor(we left out the thyme)DH really liked them! Served with fried shrimp and baked potato. Now thats some good eatin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Followed the recipe with no changes and the onion rings were great. However, I scaled the ingredients for the batter down to 3 servings and did pickle spears instead of onions. We now have a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
These were amazing! They're definitely going on my list of 'things to make when there's company for dinner'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nimue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Loved the cornmeal coating!!! Turned out fantastic! Will make these again. I did leave out the thyme as I am currently in Turkey and the thyme I find here is a bit different. Otherwise a fantastic onion ring and rather easy! I thinking I may modify the coating to fit it for chicken poppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT Fish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These were AMAZING! Followed the recipe exactly except scaled in half. Best onion rings I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wildman Groves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I thought these were going to be a disaster when I first started making them. The coating doesn't stay on that well if the rings are very thick, so I'd cut them between 1/4 and 1/2 inch. Once they were cooked though, they were quite good. Even my 8 year old said.... I don't like onion rings, but these are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Made these as a side to Ranch Burgers and they were a huge hit! No leftovers! I followed the recipe exactly and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Added some seasoned bread crumbs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States