Southern-Style Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
After I made this and made a huge mess, I realized I will add the flour for the first coat TO the milk, then dredge in the cornmeal mix. More like batter...just a thought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strasburg, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I made these for a July 4th cookout. They were a hit! Not hard to make but they are time consuming. I wouldn't make them too often because of this, but the recipe is definitely a keeper. Next time, I would spice them up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danielle Clymer
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These are delicious!! Crispy and light with just the right amount of seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
These were delicious and really crunchy! I subbed soy milk for dairy milk, and only added salt and paprika to the cornmeal mixture (ommitting the other spices). Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Nice crunchy onion rings and the batter doesn't fall off. Left out the thyme since I didn't have it, but the paprika, sugar, and pepper give it a nice flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Simple and tasty. I added a little beer to thin out the breading a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Musical Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This isn't a bad recipe, I've used it twice. A tad messy the first time, just be careful and make sure the oil doesn't get to hot quick, otherwise the rings fry really quick, and they're not done completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana890

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These were AMAZING! Followed the recipe exactly except scaled in half. Best onion rings I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wildman Groves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I thought these were going to be a disaster when I first started making them. The coating doesn't stay on that well if the rings are very thick, so I'd cut them between 1/4 and 1/2 inch. Once they were cooked though, they were quite good. Even my 8 year old said.... I don't like onion rings, but these are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Followed the recipe with no changes and the onion rings were great. However, I scaled the ingredients for the batter down to 3 servings and did pickle spears instead of onions. We now have a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States