Southern-Style Neck Bones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
mmmmmmmmmmmm....Yummy...Just like my grandmother used to make. Very tender, very flavorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VERONADRAGON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This is a simple recipe! I put mine in the oven for 2 1/2 hours.. Came out very tender and flavorful..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Great dish from Keryne as usual.. I prefer boiled neck bones but hubby likes them baked just like this... thanks Keryne!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hernando Brownie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hernando, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I loved it...I browned the neckbones on the stove top first, then I precooked the onions and garlic in the left over all and followed all the other directions....Amazingly simple yet flavor packed comfort meal...served with rice and cabbage...Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Taste just like the South!!! Add a little cayenne, green onions and a piece or two of bell pepper for the "Slap Yo' Mama" Louisiana flair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
My family enjoyed this recipe. The meat was very tender and the ingredients went well together. I added a pinch of cayenne to spice things up but other than that followed the recipe exactly. Very easy, tasty, and budget-friendly, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikita223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luna
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I never made neck bones before I tryed this recipe. They were soooo good! The onion helped to caramelize the neck bones as they roasted and they were very tasty! I also roasted potatoes and cabbage with this neck bone recipe. I will be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
First time making neck-bones and I found this recipe to be simple and delicious. Just basic ingredients that add up to a tasty, fall-of-the-bone meal :) Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was my first time ever cooking neck bones and I must say that the outcome was a success thanks to this recipe! I really like this method of cooking neck bones v/s boiling them. Normally, I follow the recipe as written but I made the following changes to suit my taste: I used three lbs. of neck bones seasoned with Lawry's seasoning salt, black pepper & Goya adobo seasoning, one onion, four cloves garlic, 1/2 c water & 2 TBSP vinegar. I didn't baste the neck bones but after 2 hrs I added 1/4 c water, cooked 30 mins covered and removed foil during last 30 mins. The neck bones were tender and in tact. I'll definitely use this recipe again but will probably use less garlic or just omit it next time - personal taste. This recipe is a keeper and Kudos to Keryne for sharing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
1st time cooking neckbones & new to cooking. Found this receipe easy to follow, quick, & food came out fantastic! Will be cooking again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States