Southern-Style Neck Bones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Tried it tonight and it was a hit!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Meets all the criteria for 5 stars - good taste, simple and economical. The only change I made was to use balsamic vinegar as I was out of white. Served with mashed potato and a green salad. I've got a lot of neck bones after having raised two pigs this year so...will be using this dish regularly for the foreseeable future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Mine came out just how I like it, nice&tender. The only things I did different was season my meat with a seasoned salt & pepper , plus I added cream of mushroom soup to compliment my jasmine rice. Tasted Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
These were AWESOME! I did use onion soup mix and didn't baste them, just covered them with foil and let them cook for 2 hours. They were so tender and good. This was my first time baking them, I usually boil them, but not any more! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingsland, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I thought this was a really good recipe but you have to remember this is for people that really really like to play with their food! There is a lot of glorious picking and delicious tidbits of flavorful meat but it takes time and patence; perfect for long chatty meals. I too added peppers (2 bird peppers finely chopped with seeds) and a stick of cinnamon. Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Worked out perfectly! Very tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I used a cast iron skillet in the oven, and they came out both tender and browned. The flavor was superb. The only change I made, was to substitute 2 Tbs Italian dressing and hot sauce for the vinegar because I didn't have any on hand. So good!!!!!! Nom nom :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Very easy. I was out of fresh onion so I used dehydrated onion and added double the water. I served mine with baked sweet potatoes and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I tried this recipe with 2 pounds of neck bones and also adjusted the other ingredients. The finished product was quite tasty. This is the first time I have eaten neck bones in 20 years. Never say never. My funds are low but the quality of my meals stay high. I watch a variety of cook shows all the time now and they have increased my courage to try old and new foods. Thanks for sharing this recipe with the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Virtual High Five KERYNE!! These were delicious. My mom had bought me one of those heavy roasting pans as a gift, and I had been dying to try it out. I wanted short ribs, but they were too expensive, so I picked up some neckbones which were really inexpensive. I found your recipe last night, and decided to give it a try. The only thing I changed was that I added carne asada seasoning instead of salt. My mom came over and had some, she said they didn't even taste like neckbones. I lucked up and the packs that I had were very meaty! Next time I'm going to do a wine braise. Yummy! My mom teased me as she was leaving because I was standing in the kitchen eating them out of the pot! LOL! No need for sides, because it will all be gone! Thanks again for this simple, but awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States