Southern-Style Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
It is really great. the flavor is rich and it is very spicy! I guess I did not realize it as I was cooking it. my wife was not a fan because she "couldn't taste anything over the spice" but I will not hold that against her. I guess the next time I make it (and there will be a next time) I will have to tame it a bit for my wife, but that is the only reason I would. I added Italian sausage, because I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is not a bad recipe for a fast sauce. It is tasty but I prefer the more traditional Italian sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monroe, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Castle Hayne, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
so delicious! I omitted the red pepper flakes and mushrooms because I'm not a fan of those or spicy food, but all in all a solid meat sauce recipe - I think I found my go to for spaghetti sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weslievt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I'm sorry. I followed this recipe exactly. I've made numerous sauces and this was the worst sauce I have ever cooked and I'm a basic cook kind of a gal. The herbs were over powering. I will never cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This tasted so GOOD! I followed the recipe exactly. One small problem, I didn't read the reviews first ....now I myself had no problem with the salt seeing as how I add it to everything anyway on my plate, but my family couldn't eat it! I /should have realized that 2 TBL. of salt was a little much with all the other ingredients. That said, I personally enjoyed it and will definitely be making again! With LESS salt of course! Thanks for this recipe Noell C. !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
SO GOOD!! Did not add as much salt or chili flakes as specified (simply based on taste preference) but the flavor was amazing. Better than what I've tried in restaurants. I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I am trying really hard to cook out of my freezer/pantry for the next two weeks to save money. I did make a one substitution in this recipe to reflect that--I used half ground beef/half ground sausage as that was the meat I had in my deep freeze. I used brown sugar (the recipe did not specify which to use, I made a judgement call), I went light on the red pepper flake, I used fresh mushrooms and did not add the full amount of salt. I also added fresh ground black pepper. This simmered most of the afternoon and the liquid evaporated quickly. I did throw in one can (undrained) diced red tomatoes and a little red wine in an attempt to add more liquid which was just what it needed. Very good sauce--smells wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
i didnt expect much from this but i really liked it. i did reduce the sugar a little bit and used fresh mushrooms. i added the bay leaf tied in cheesecloth because i dislike getting a bay leaf in my food when i eat. i also used fresh herbs. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This recipe is good! It's a nice twist on traditional meat sauce spaghetti, and I like things that are different from what you're normally used to. I do like spicy foods, but if you're sensitive you might want to tone down the red pepper. I used half of this recipe which serves 2 people fine. I chopped up a green pepper very finely for added nutrition, turned out fine. Nothing else to say, it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Branden Lee Carroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This reminds me of spaghetti sauce I grew up with in New Orleans. It is rich in spice and full of robust flavors. Yum!! I do add diced green peppers to the simmered onions and cook until soft. This is a must have recipe for any spaghetti loving family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States