Southern Style Holiday Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I made this recipe twice over the holidays--once with bacon and once with some leftover Christmas ham instead. Both were a success! My Southern husband and in-laws loved it. Many thanks from a formerly clueless Yankee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
EXCELLENT!!! I do this on a much smaller scale (2 bunches of just turnip greens) for our smaller family of 5. All my 3 toddlers just love it too! Sometimes, I use some pepperoncini juice for some extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIANAYUM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
It really annoys me when reviewers change the recipe and then give it a bad review! I've never been a big greens fan, but I made this for a big family gathering, and everyone loved it. I followed the recipe exactly and it was great. I've added my own touches here and there, as does every other cook I know. You have to add your own personal touch. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I used frozen greens and replaced the water with chicken broth. (not as much liquid was needed since not wilting the greens down) It even received rave reviews from those who normally dislike greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
These greens needed a lot of doctoring! It just didn't have that Southern down home taste I've been accustomed to. I've enjoyed greens during every major holiday while growing up, and finally wanted to make some of my own. (This was actually my 3rd time making them). In order to get them to taste like anything, I ended up adding 3 chicken bouillon cubes, more pickle juice, jalepeno juice, a little bit of seasoning salt, garlic powder, & crushed red pepper. After adding this I was finally able to lick my platter clean :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I first made this two Thanksgivings ago. It has been requested by my extended family every year since. They love it and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Ok all you other southern residents can stop reading this post. I made these and they were very good. I have been trimming back on my ham hocks and bacon after watching the last southern generation battle heart disease. I even used .......turkey bacon and frozen turnip greens. I was expecting lighting or something to strike me when I put in the pan. I did have to add a extra spicy for my taste. I put in some no salt ham flavor....to make up for the turkey and some pepper flakes.....I left out the butter as I didn't need to boil. 30 mins I was finished great vege for a busy night in the new south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is an excellent combination of greens the only thing I do different in omit the pickle juice from the cooking and use vegetable oil and salt pork or ham hocks instead of the bacon... diced onions as well instead of the slices... Being from the south means greens are a staple in our households... and if you have turnips of any kind you MUST use the roots... oh how delicious.. and the cooking time is the key the greens should NOT be crunchy we are not having salad we are having greens so they are cooked down until they are tender... served up with a side of warm cornbread and H_O_N_E_Y....umph...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
It seemed like something was missing from this recipe. It's good, but just needs something more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Price, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
My family loved this recipe and it was so easy! I used 1 bag of pre-washed turnip greens and left everything else the same. This cooking time was pefect...tender and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States