Southern Style Holiday Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is an excellent combination of greens the only thing I do different in omit the pickle juice from the cooking and use vegetable oil and salt pork or ham hocks instead of the bacon... diced onions as well instead of the slices... Being from the south means greens are a staple in our households... and if you have turnips of any kind you MUST use the roots... oh how delicious.. and the cooking time is the key the greens should NOT be crunchy we are not having salad we are having greens so they are cooked down until they are tender... served up with a side of warm cornbread and H_O_N_E_Y....umph...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
These were very good, but they needed a little more oomph to suit our taste. Next time I will add some hotsauce and vinegar. Thanks LUCKYCHEEKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I'm sure this will be better when I can prepare with bacon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This was my first time making greens. I only used 1 bag of pre-washed turnips and I didn't add the mustards. I think I added too much water so I hate to add a bit more pickle juice and they still turned out excellent. Tangy and delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
OK but I'm not from the south so I wouldn't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roadrunner8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
My family loved this recipe and it was so easy! I used 1 bag of pre-washed turnip greens and left everything else the same. This cooking time was pefect...tender and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I substituted chard and collards for the turnip greens, put in chicken broth instead of water and added about a tablespoon of creole seasoning. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I only used turnip green since that is what I had in my garden. I made a few adjustments and added 2 Tbsp. of sugar to the pot because turnip greens are bitter depending if they are young or not(my were not). I also took the advice of another and added moe pickle juice 1 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder, 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper and 2 tsp. of seasoned salt. Very tasty recipe I will make this for the holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
It really annoys me when reviewers change the recipe and then give it a bad review! I've never been a big greens fan, but I made this for a big family gathering, and everyone loved it. I followed the recipe exactly and it was great. I've added my own touches here and there, as does every other cook I know. You have to add your own personal touch. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
These greens needed a lot of doctoring! It just didn't have that Southern down home taste I've been accustomed to. I've enjoyed greens during every major holiday while growing up, and finally wanted to make some of my own. (This was actually my 3rd time making them). In order to get them to taste like anything, I ended up adding 3 chicken bouillon cubes, more pickle juice, jalepeno juice, a little bit of seasoning salt, garlic powder, & crushed red pepper. After adding this I was finally able to lick my platter clean :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States