Southern Style Holiday Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I'm still not a great fan of mustard/turnip greens but I was able to eat all of my serving. Scaled down to 3 servings for 1 bunch of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I added season salt, hot paprika, 2 cloves of garlic, garlic powder, onion powder, sriracha, and substituted white vinegar for the pickle juice. BEST GREENS EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary.bokkon
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
absolutely love this very simple recipe!!! it's ripe for us cooks that like adding their own little touches! thank you, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudiamagdalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was my first time cooking southern greens, and I used 6 bunches fresh collards with all the same seasonings, except I used jalapeño juice instead of pickle juice. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I was never a fan of turnip greens. Every time I tried them anywhere I'd go I didn't like them and then I found this recipe and the high ratings and thought I'd give it a try. I'm glad I did. It is delicious! My husband even loves it and he was never a fan either. I did make a few changes. I used all turnip greens, 3 tbsp of butter and about 3/4c of pickle juice. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I don't even like turnip greens but this was delicious with just a few minor changes to my liking not important enough to mention. My husband said that this is the very best greens that he has ever had and he is a Southern through and through!! Thank you for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I had to half the recipe because we are a small family. But these greens were wonderful! It's my first time to try these and I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This is yummy! Since our family loves greens, I have used this recipe with frozen turnip greens and fresh collard greens. And not just for holidays, either ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Ok all you other southern residents can stop reading this post. I made these and they were very good. I have been trimming back on my ham hocks and bacon after watching the last southern generation battle heart disease. I even used .......turkey bacon and frozen turnip greens. I was expecting lighting or something to strike me when I put in the pan. I did have to add a extra spicy for my taste. I put in some no salt ham flavor....to make up for the turkey and some pepper flakes.....I left out the butter as I didn't need to boil. 30 mins I was finished great vege for a busy night in the new south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made these for new years day. Everyone liked them alot. I was a little skepticle of the pickle juice, but they turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States