Southern Style Holiday Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I'm still not a great fan of mustard/turnip greens but I was able to eat all of my serving. Scaled down to 3 servings for 1 bunch of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I added season salt, hot paprika, 2 cloves of garlic, garlic powder, onion powder, sriracha, and substituted white vinegar for the pickle juice. BEST GREENS EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary.bokkon
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
absolutely love this very simple recipe!!! it's ripe for us cooks that like adding their own little touches! thank you, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudiamagdalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was my first time cooking southern greens, and I used 6 bunches fresh collards with all the same seasonings, except I used jalapeño juice instead of pickle juice. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I was never a fan of turnip greens. Every time I tried them anywhere I'd go I didn't like them and then I found this recipe and the high ratings and thought I'd give it a try. I'm glad I did. It is delicious! My husband even loves it and he was never a fan either. I did make a few changes. I used all turnip greens, 3 tbsp of butter and about 3/4c of pickle juice. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I don't even like turnip greens but this was delicious with just a few minor changes to my liking not important enough to mention. My husband said that this is the very best greens that he has ever had and he is a Southern through and through!! Thank you for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I had to half the recipe because we are a small family. But these greens were wonderful! It's my first time to try these and I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Young Llopis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This is yummy! Since our family loves greens, I have used this recipe with frozen turnip greens and fresh collard greens. And not just for holidays, either ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Ok all you other southern residents can stop reading this post. I made these and they were very good. I have been trimming back on my ham hocks and bacon after watching the last southern generation battle heart disease. I even used .......turkey bacon and frozen turnip greens. I was expecting lighting or something to strike me when I put in the pan. I did have to add a extra spicy for my taste. I put in some no salt ham flavor....to make up for the turkey and some pepper flakes.....I left out the butter as I didn't need to boil. 30 mins I was finished great vege for a busy night in the new south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made these for new years day. Everyone liked them alot. I was a little skepticle of the pickle juice, but they turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena Brooks

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States