Southern Style Fried Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I'll give it a 4 just because it was a little messy and after the first batch, they didn't cook as well. I have cooked fried okra several times so I know it can be a hard thing to cook so I didn't mark it lower. I thought the taste was great and it was nice having it a bit different than my normal fried okra. I didn't have a potato this time, but I will certainly try it next time. I did need some extra meal mix, so I added some reg cornmeal to the jiffy mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to type this up. This is my husband's favorite summertime meal. I think you have be from the South to really appreciate fried taters & okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Craig! Great recipe! Did not change a thing in this recipe and my family totally loved. it. My late mom in law made a great fried okra. Not sure if it was as good as hers, but my family loved it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. Nothing at all like fried okra is supposed to be. Jiffy and other such mixes are sweet. For good fried okra, skip the mixes and just use cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Love this! Although I use about half as much onion as called for in any recipe, then add black pepper for extra spice. If you add some sausage, this makes a great one dish meal. I've also used frozen, pre-breaded okra and then didn't bread the potatoes. It's a flexible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
mixer didn't stick to the okra turned my oil into a sludgy mess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherylnixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orangefield, Texas, USA
Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scullybug
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Definitely a keeper! First time cooking okra and now I have high expectations. I cut the potatoes smaller, like 1/2" pieces and added salt, pepper and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
My Grandma always made just plain fried okra, which was amazing! I never knew her recipe, so I decided to search for one. This is a very good recipe! I really recommend trying it WITH the potatoes and onions! The only thing I will do differently next time is cut the potatoes smaller. Also, two onions will seem like a lot, but cooks down to almost nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I did this with only okra... I think you can make the pieces bigger than a quarter inch. I used Jiffy mix, and rinsed the okra just before coating it so the corn mix stuck well. Instead of putting it in a pan and flipping it, I deep fried the okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Tasty spin on an old favorite. The onions really give a lovely sweetness. I, too, used a mixture of flour and cornmeal, and it turned out fine. Added a bit of salt and pepper. Grew all my ingredients in my home garden...they're all really easy to do...even in containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amityville, New York, USA
Living In: Lavon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States