Southern Style Fried Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
More like dough than batter. I peeled off the batter after cooking to each the mushrooms. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Very good, very few additions made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I really liked these, they had great flavor and crispiness as well. I tried to experiment, using both fresh white mushrooms and canned...no contest of course, the fresh were sooo good. I'll be trying onion rings using this same recipe. The red wine was great, I added more than called for and that to me is the hero of this dish! I'm guessing porabellas would taste great with this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
VERY TASTY. IT'S ON MY FAVORITES LIST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Delicious! I made these for my family after a long day of peeling off wallpaper and they were VERY well-received. The wine adds a really nice complexity and they really do cook through in about 5 minutes. I did end up adding more water to the batter and left out the Parmesan cheese because it didn't fit with the rest of my menu. If you want to take these even further, serve them with a creamy dipping sauce: sour cream, cream cheese (or mascarpone), chopped garlic, chopped parsley, minced shallot, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was delicious. I replaced the red wine and water with white wine. I used baby bella mushrooms and next time I will use button mushrooms and add a little salt. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstovall

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These were outstanding. We did have to add more water though. At first my husband did not want to use the red wine but I convinced him to try it. Thank goodness because the wine is a really special touch! I already bought more mushrooms to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I made these with dinner tonight they tasted great but I had problems with some of the batter coming off, I added extra water as suggested so that might be why. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Flavor was good but, as others have noted, liquid measurment was way off. And because they didn't crisp up as much as I like, I'm wondering if an "egg" was omitted from the ingredient list. All batters I've ever made for deep frying include egg. May give it another try with that addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
These are really, really good. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used 50% more water in the batter. Divine appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaRenner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ramona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States