Southern Style Fried Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by WENDY
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I used this recipe, fried onions, fried pickles and fried nushrooms. Had no parsley so I added 21 seasoning salute from Trader Joe's, added pale ale beer because the batter was too thick and added sherry wine instead of the red wine. Overall it was awesome. Trying to post picture....Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This was not a batter for mushrooms. It was too dry, and then with adding in the extra water that others recommended, the batter wouldn't stick to the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This recipe was awesome! As others stated I had to add more water for a batter. But will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Great. I saved it. I wonder if the original poster can edit the water amount needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
More like dough than batter. I peeled off the batter after cooking to each the mushrooms. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Very good, very few additions made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I really liked these, they had great flavor and crispiness as well. I tried to experiment, using both fresh white mushrooms and canned...no contest of course, the fresh were sooo good. I'll be trying onion rings using this same recipe. The red wine was great, I added more than called for and that to me is the hero of this dish! I'm guessing porabellas would taste great with this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
VERY TASTY. IT'S ON MY FAVORITES LIST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Delicious! I made these for my family after a long day of peeling off wallpaper and they were VERY well-received. The wine adds a really nice complexity and they really do cook through in about 5 minutes. I did end up adding more water to the batter and left out the Parmesan cheese because it didn't fit with the rest of my menu. If you want to take these even further, serve them with a creamy dipping sauce: sour cream, cream cheese (or mascarpone), chopped garlic, chopped parsley, minced shallot, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was delicious. I replaced the red wine and water with white wine. I used baby bella mushrooms and next time I will use button mushrooms and add a little salt. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstovall

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States