Southern Style Fried Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Didn't get as crispy as I would have liked. But they tasted good. But didn't get very brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I'd stick with a panco style these turn soggy before they have time to even be edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aaron Gilliam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WENDY
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I used this recipe, fried onions, fried pickles and fried nushrooms. Had no parsley so I added 21 seasoning salute from Trader Joe's, added pale ale beer because the batter was too thick and added sherry wine instead of the red wine. Overall it was awesome. Trying to post picture....Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This was not a batter for mushrooms. It was too dry, and then with adding in the extra water that others recommended, the batter wouldn't stick to the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This recipe was awesome! As others stated I had to add more water for a batter. But will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Great. I saved it. I wonder if the original poster can edit the water amount needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
More like dough than batter. I peeled off the batter after cooking to each the mushrooms. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Very good, very few additions made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I really liked these, they had great flavor and crispiness as well. I tried to experiment, using both fresh white mushrooms and canned...no contest of course, the fresh were sooo good. I'll be trying onion rings using this same recipe. The red wine was great, I added more than called for and that to me is the hero of this dish! I'm guessing porabellas would taste great with this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
VERY TASTY. IT'S ON MY FAVORITES LIST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States