Southern Style Fried Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very very good. Our Sonny's BBQ used to have fried mushrooms, and they redid their restaurant and took them off the menu. We've been craving a great mushroom recipe and these hit the spot! I had to add some more water to get the batter just so, but that's of no consequence. Great receipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I ALMOST rated this 4 stars! Unfortunately as others have noted - you have to add more water. It's not a big deal, true, but if you follow the recipe as written you have a dough and not a batter. It's more like 2 tablespoons. However,the flavor is wonderful and provided you fry it a slightly deep golden brown, provides a nice crispy crunch. I imagine this batter would be great on a lot of vegetables and will try experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
These are really, really good. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used 50% more water in the batter. Divine appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaRenner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ramona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
As others mentioned, this needs more water to make a batter. I used cilantro instead of parsley, and crushed one large clove of garlic. I was able to do probably 15 or more medium-small mushrooms and we served them with a creamy horseradish sauce. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I made these with dinner tonight they tasted great but I had problems with some of the batter coming off, I added extra water as suggested so that might be why. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Hayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I just did this recipe making onion rings, in a word awesome! Nice and crisp :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRASH5456

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiarton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
My family loves mushrooms and every time we can we order them at restaurants. This is a restaurant quality recipe. I adjusted the water to 1 1/2 tblsp as suggested and I had a mixed herb seasoning that I used instead of the parsley. This recipe is going down in my family cookbook! I reheated in the oven the next day and they were just as good. We will be sharing this recipe with others. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pisgah, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I've never had fried mushrooms before but I saw this recipe and had to try it! It was absolutely delicious. Like everyone said, I did have to add a bit more water to the recipe, and i didn't have any red wine on hand so I substituted diluted red wine vinegar and it was yumyumyum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Bellflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I added a 1/2 cup water to make this a batter rather then a dough. I added garlic pepper because I was out of garlic. Oh my goodness no more $8.00 for 8 mushrooms for me. I'll be making these at home from now on. Great with Artichoke and spinach dip. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States