Southern Style Fried Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Delicious! I made these for my family after a long day of peeling off wallpaper and they were VERY well-received. The wine adds a really nice complexity and they really do cook through in about 5 minutes. I did end up adding more water to the batter and left out the Parmesan cheese because it didn't fit with the rest of my menu. If you want to take these even further, serve them with a creamy dipping sauce: sour cream, cream cheese (or mascarpone), chopped garlic, chopped parsley, minced shallot, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was delicious. I replaced the red wine and water with white wine. I used baby bella mushrooms and next time I will use button mushrooms and add a little salt. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstovall

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These were outstanding. We did have to add more water though. At first my husband did not want to use the red wine but I convinced him to try it. Thank goodness because the wine is a really special touch! I already bought more mushrooms to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I made these with dinner tonight they tasted great but I had problems with some of the batter coming off, I added extra water as suggested so that might be why. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Hayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Flavor was good but, as others have noted, liquid measurment was way off. And because they didn't crisp up as much as I like, I'm wondering if an "egg" was omitted from the ingredient list. All batters I've ever made for deep frying include egg. May give it another try with that addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
These are really, really good. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used 50% more water in the batter. Divine appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaRenner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ramona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I made these for my book club, our theme for dinner that evening was Southern foods. I really did not know how these were going to turn out, but we all loved them! Easy to do, too. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BGTMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Hebron, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I added a 1/2 cup water to make this a batter rather then a dough. I added garlic pepper because I was out of garlic. Oh my goodness no more $8.00 for 8 mushrooms for me. I'll be making these at home from now on. Great with Artichoke and spinach dip. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I followed the directions exactly and we didn't like it AT ALL..will not try again. If I could rate this w/o a star I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I've never had fried mushrooms before but I saw this recipe and had to try it! It was absolutely delicious. Like everyone said, I did have to add a bit more water to the recipe, and i didn't have any red wine on hand so I substituted diluted red wine vinegar and it was yumyumyum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Bellflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States