Southern-Style Crowder Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Wonderful. Full of flavor and easy to make. My 2 year old had 3 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEN9903

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Delicious! Got some Crowder Peas at our farmer's market and found this recipe. I had no bacon or ham (although both would be great in this recipe) so I used 1 tablespoon butter. No bell peppers, so I added an anaheim pepper, also from the market. Instead of garlic powder I used a fat garlic clove. And I didn't crush the bay leaf but put it in whole & removed it when ready to serve. Great recipe and great seasonings. Thanks GLOKEY--it was just what I needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I am giving this 5 stars - because I do not want to ruin the rating - but I searched literally probably 40 stores by phone and in person and could not find crowder peas in my state (Utah). I bought all the ingredients and it was a tremendous let down. Anybody familiar with crowder peas - I would love a good substitue. I read you could use blackeyed peas but the flavor was much milder - which is kind of a letdown. I so want this to be authentic. Any ideas from any of you would be appreciated??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Holy Moly! These were great! I have eaten crowder peas/purple hull peas forever but not like this. Didn't use the ham and didn't miss it. Used minced garlic and cooked my fresh peas for the first hour with a slice of uncooked bacon as instructed by my southern relatives. Saved in my recipes for use again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This recipe was fabulous and I even made it wrong! I could not find crowder peas anywhere, so I decided to substitute black-eyed peas. Unfortunately I had everything ready to go and realized I did not have black-eyed peas. I used baby butter beans instead and it was still wonderful. I served it with yellow rice. A big hit. I will definitely add this to my menu more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This was very good. The only changes I made was adding some miinced garlic and salt to taste. I ommitted the thyme and parsley per other reviewer comments. I will use this again. It even passed one of the picker eater's of the household taste test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
fabulous, it took me a northerner a few bites to get used to this flavor, but it's yummy and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Yummy! No squawks from anyone! I did not make any alterations and just loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I love some Crowder peas. I would say the thyme is not necessary though, just let the taste of the peas come through, please
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bracken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Awesome! It was as a big hit with everyone. I had just gotten some home grown crowder peas from a friend of mine so I looked for a good recipe. I didn't even realizes that those peas were called crowder peas until I looked for a recipe cause in the south we just call them peas. I just love shelling those things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookhaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States