Southern-Style Crowder Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This recipe is perfec. I was concerned about the amount of garlic powder, so I put half in and ended up putting the rest in. Glokey hit the nail on the head with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Not quite what I expected, kinda bland for my taste. I ended up chopping some fresh jalapeno to improve the flavor but as written it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
My changes: 1) one teaspoon garlic powder; 2) heaping tablespoon of sweet pepper relish instead of green pepper; and 3) a cup and a half, approximately, of cubed baked ham (more ham would not hurt it). It works best with a tight fitting cover. My finicky teenaged son LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elm City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apredfield
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Followed recipe almost to the letter. Used fresh crowder peas from my farm stand. Wasn't sure how much ham 2 slices of cooked ham was, used 3 fairly thin slices of a small cooked ham. Tasted great. Loved it. Will make it again. Thinking about trying it with shrimp and andouille. The peas took a little longer to cook than I expected. The pea portion of the dish was a little runnier than I expected, but the rice soaks it right up. You want that yummy liquid, so don't try to boil it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Loved it!! My picky husband and friend said it was one of their favorite meals I've made. His friend even told me he'd pay me to make it for him he liked it so much lol! The peas portion I made very little changes. I omitted the parsley, used a whole bay leaf and removed it when done. I added a little extra water at the end and 1lb of Polish sausage cut up. Did not use ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
not the flavor I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Love crowder peas! I had to make a few changes because I didn't have everything on hand. No bacon or ham so I used smoked sausage. I browned that first with my onion and fresh garlic. Didn't have green pepper so I subbed in a 14oz can of chopped tomatoes with green chilies. I also added a 14oz can of chicken broth along with added water. Was also out of thyme. Will try that next time. So I added a Herb ox low sodium chicken bouillon packet and I did have the bay leaf, but I didn't crush that. Just kept that whole. The peas turned out wonderful! Definitely making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I'm excited to find this recipe as I got some seeds at a local seed exchange. I didn't know anything about them! According to a local here, you can use them fresh or dried and they dried so fast I'm going to use them dried. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Perfect! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I doubled the recipe (except for the water, kept that at 2 cups) and added a lot more ham, making this into a main dish. I had to use black-eyed peas because I couldn't find crowder peas. Very, very tasty! I will use this on New Year's Day for the traditional serving of black-eyed peas for good fortune in the new year. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States