Southern-Style Crowder Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I doubled the recipe (except for the water, kept that at 2 cups) and added a lot more ham, making this into a main dish. I had to use black-eyed peas because I couldn't find crowder peas. Very, very tasty! I will use this on New Year's Day for the traditional serving of black-eyed peas for good fortune in the new year. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
best dish ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Delicious! My entire family loved them and that isn't always easy when it comes to beans/peas. They do take some time to shell but the fresh peas are terrific. I cooked per the recipe. The Peas were really tender in about 30 min. I've been craving them since I made them and will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Yum! I did leave out the thyme and parsley, other than that, made as directed. Very tasty!! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Everyone loved this recipe. We used fresh peas and chorizo from the farmer's market. The flavors are absolutely out of this world. My 18 year old said it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Awesome! It was as a big hit with everyone. I had just gotten some home grown crowder peas from a friend of mine so I looked for a good recipe. I didn't even realizes that those peas were called crowder peas until I looked for a recipe cause in the south we just call them peas. I just love shelling those things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookhaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I love some Crowder peas. I would say the thyme is not necessary though, just let the taste of the peas come through, please
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bracken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Yummy! No squawks from anyone! I did not make any alterations and just loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
fabulous, it took me a northerner a few bites to get used to this flavor, but it's yummy and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This was very good. The only changes I made was adding some miinced garlic and salt to taste. I ommitted the thyme and parsley per other reviewer comments. I will use this again. It even passed one of the picker eater's of the household taste test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States