Southern-Style Chocolate Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Moppel
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I have never had chocolate gravy before, nor have I ever heard of it. I made it for dinner tonight (yep, dinner!), and it was a huge hit. I usually don't mess with recipes when I try them for the first time, but I did what another comment said and doubled the cocoa and added 1/4 tsp salt. Perfection! Very smooth, great flavor. I have some left over from dinner tonight, and I'm going to try putting it on ice cream. I think it would taste great on ice cream too. (And I'm not sure if I can reheat the leftovers?) I served the gravy with the cream biscuits from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe countless times, and it is a true weekend favorite for the family. I do add a pinch of salt and reduce the sugar some. A kid favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Timberweave
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This meal has more sentimental meaning than anything. This recipe is the closest I have found the one my grandma used when I would get to spend the night as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timberweave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I've always made chocolate gravy from boxed pudding, but this is so much better and more convenient since it's made from stuff I always have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Not many people have heard of Chocolate Gravy.... If you try it you will be hooked this has been passed down from my husbands family for several years..... AS SOMEONE said above a MUST increase cocoa to 1/2 cup and add salt about 1/4 tsp..... GREAT WITH BISCUITS AND PERSONALLY I PREFER LIGHT SPAM, YES SPAM FRY UPON BOTH SIDES AND ENJOY IT WITH BISCUITS & CHOCOLATE GRAVY DIP AND ENJOY..... can I say YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made this gravy Christmas morning and it was very good and easy to make. I have never attempted to make gravy before and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I didn't use the vanilla, but it was still pretty darn good. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was close. The flavor was good but it was fairly thick. This could have been that we cooked it too long. We will be trying it again with a few tweeks. Definitely needs the 1/4 teas salt and a full 1/2 cup of cocoa. We will probably decrease the flour slightly and add something to improve the flavor from good to great. We are thinking one of the following: cinnamon; more vanilla; chili flakes; almond extract.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I added a little more milk to make it not as thick and a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States