Southern-Style Chocolate Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
Unbelievable! I'm 47 yrs old and this recipe tastes exactly the same as the chocolate gravy my grandma used to make me over 40 yrs ago in the hills of East Tn. I haven't had it in several years and tonight I decided to make it and it turned out great. It was delicious, especially on my homemade buttermilk biscuits, and my wife and my two daughters loved it just as much as I did. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I came from the family who has our recipe for Chocolate Gravy in many southern restaurants and cafes. It has been in several cook books thanks to an uncle and my mom. I increased the cocoa to 1/2 c., reduced sugar to 1/2 c., and always use whole milk and never reduced fat. You can easily double this recipe; I've always had to because we have 7 kids in our family and even with 4 still at home one batch is not enough. This has to be served over homemade biscuits (not bisquick) and always use real butter on biscuits, never margarine. This is a favorite of our family's on a Saturday morning. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Thought it would be sweeter than it was....any recomendations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
My boyfriend and I are from the south and he kept talking about chocolate gravy so I found this recipe and made it about half an hour ago and he was less than impressed with it. I have never even heard of chocolate gravy before a month ago (the whole south sighs in shock as one of their own has turned their back on them) so I don't know what it tastes or looks like to compare it to anything. He said it was too sweet and thick and looked like I just globbed chocolate cake frosting on top of some biscuits. I even took the other southerner's suggestions and added another 1/4 cup of cocoa and 1/4 tsp of salt. 2 stars since I modified it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Just made it this morning. My mom is 84 and said this reminded her of home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I actually tried increasing the chocolate; it was a mistake IMO. This is a good recipe as stands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMama71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Shelton
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This is better than the recipe I have in myou cookbook on recipes from the old south. It's thicker like gravy should be. I haven't tried tweaking the recipe, as I find it just fine as-is. Maybe they left out salt since regular butter is used instead of unsalted? My 2 year old son has never eaten a biscuit put in front of him until I poured this over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Shelton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I think this is an awesome recipe. Doesn't need any changes but I do play with stuff out of curiosity. Have found a dash of cinnamon makes it even more amazing or a couple tablespoons of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This recipe tasted awesome!! I did everything according to the recipe! Yummy! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kdd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States