Southern Style Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I gave this recipe 3 stars because it does use the traditional Southern "slippery noodles" called "pastry". However, that is the only similiarity to being Southern that I saw. Lemon? Bay Leaf? Sounds like flavors above the M/D to me. For authenticity, add 1 teaspoon poultry seasoning to the chicken as it boils. A roaster or hen will give the better flavor. Skim the fat from the broth and use it to make the noodles. When done properly, this is a labor of love and takes the better part of a half day to accomplish. To properly complete the recipe, after all the noodles are added to the pot and it is allowed to simmer for about ten minutes; turn the heat off and cover. Allow to "rest" for another ten to fifteen minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Great recipe for Southern Dumplings. I made my own recipe for the chicken & broth. NO LEMON, NO BAY LEAF, NO THYME! I cooked the chicken with 1 chopped onion, 3 diced carrots, and 3 ribs of diced celery. Add chicken broth & some black pepper (just the same as how I make soup)... THEN follow the recipe for the dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
AWARD WINNING!The Dumplings really made this recipe. They were easy to make and if you treat the dough like pie dough and don't over mix, they come out sooooo tender. I cooked the chicken budget style: Frozen breasts with just a little chicken broth, black pepper and a bay leaf. Those of you who said the lemon gave it a funny flavor, should make sure your chicken is simmering and that the lemon is only in for about 30 minutes. The only thing I would change about this recipe is the directions stating to serve immediately. I let it rest and the broth thickened on its own within 30 minutes. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Yes , !!! Finally a recipe that has brought me very close to my favorite 'Cracker Barrel" restaurant. This recipe was great .I used chicken breasts instead of the whole chicken,I find it easier to work with. I used the chicken broth instead of water in the dumplings& used enough to make a nice soft dough. I threw in a few handfuls of baby carrots while the chicken & broth simmered. I like the sauce on the creamy side instead of broth, so I added a 1/2 cup equal parts of cream,broth & flour and added it at the end . It thickened as it stood. BEAUTIFUL!!!! I cant wait until the kids go to bed so I can sit with the whole pot & a big spoon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
I made this dish with my Grandma, and boy did it bring back childhood memories. I added extra flour to thicken the broth a bit, but other than that it was scrumptious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TR21

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
This was the first time my chicken and dumplings ever turned out right. This is a very good recipe if you like southern style chicken and dumplings. Since my dad grew up in the south, I sent him some. He came back over the next day to eat leftovers. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
Did not care for this type of dumpling. Like Bisquick better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
Taste just like the chicken and dumplins I used to eat at Po Folks restaraunt 15 years ago!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2000
Fairly easy to make! Especially since it was my first attempt at dumplings like this. My family ate it all up! Tasted wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Very easy to follow and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States