Southern Style Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This recipe is interesting. I had lost my favorite dumpling recipe and could not remember how to make it. So I turned to Allrecipes. In the end, it turned out very good but that was with many modifications. I did not use lemon or bay leaves (my mother would have disowned me). I used chicken bullion cubes for flavor and added minced onion (easier). I also thickened up the sauce and had to use way more water than 1/4 cup in the dumplings. It took more like 1.5-2 cups to turn the flour into a soft, workable ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was really good. My husband loved them and he doesn't really care for chicken and dumplings. I used chicken stock in place of water to boil the chicken and added some celery. I then cooled the broth and skimmed off the fat. I also used some of the broth to make the dumplings. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Yes , !!! Finally a recipe that has brought me very close to my favorite 'Cracker Barrel" restaurant. This recipe was great .I used chicken breasts instead of the whole chicken,I find it easier to work with. I used the chicken broth instead of water in the dumplings& used enough to make a nice soft dough. I threw in a few handfuls of baby carrots while the chicken & broth simmered. I like the sauce on the creamy side instead of broth, so I added a 1/2 cup equal parts of cream,broth & flour and added it at the end . It thickened as it stood. BEAUTIFUL!!!! I cant wait until the kids go to bed so I can sit with the whole pot & a big spoon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
i made this last nite and it was really great. i doubled the recipe to make enough for my family and some of my husband's coworkers. i also added some carrots, celery, chopped onion and fresh green beans b/c hubby likes it that way. the only thing that i didn't like was it was more of a soup style than creamy like i'm used to. so, i added some flour and cornstarch w/ a little broth and then mixed it back in. it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This only needs one change to make it like my grandmother's famous dumplings. After you cook the chicken, place the pan in the refrigerator long enough for the fat to congeal, then use that fat to make the dumplings. Now that's Southern cookin'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
the dumplings were really plain tasting. Maybe just needs a little something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefspecialty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Very easy to follow and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Easy to make. Good to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Great recipe for Southern Dumplings. I made my own recipe for the chicken & broth. NO LEMON, NO BAY LEAF, NO THYME! I cooked the chicken with 1 chopped onion, 3 diced carrots, and 3 ribs of diced celery. Add chicken broth & some black pepper (just the same as how I make soup)... THEN follow the recipe for the dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Just finished eating, very yummy! The dumplings were a little gummy, that's why I only gave it 4 stars, but I'm used to dumplings you just drop in the pot, so that could be the difference, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Groton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States