Southern Style Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
My fav chicken and dumplings recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I made this last night for my housemates and it was quite tasty! The dumplings I found to be a little tasteless however this was the first time I've ever had chicken and dumplings so I'm not sure if that's how they're supposed to be. I added carrots, potatoes and celery, skipped the lemon, added rosemary, garlic, pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was sooo yummy! Everyone loved it. The only changes I made were, omit lemon and add chicken bullion granules to the water to make a tasty broth, and use cold water and cornstarch to thicken to desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Deskins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Simply Delicious! My family begs for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Every one love it!!...thank you for sharing. I definately keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This turned out great- It is most like how I was taught to make it (more years ago than I care to admit.) No lemon for me though and sometimes if I don't have the time or patience or ingredients, I just used canned biscuits, flatten them out a bit and there ya go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Excellent recipe! I left out the lemon. I've been looking for the perfect dumpling recipe and this is it. If you like the dumplings at Cracker Barrel, you'll love these. I will not roll them out very thin next time like the recipe calls for as I like them thicker, but the consistency and flavor were just was I wanted. Will be making these regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I run the kitch for bingo at our local fire hall. I try to vary the menu once in a while & over the winter, I like to make soup for the players. This one went over huge! They loved it, I got rave reviews from all the players, 2 of which are former restaurant owners, now that's saying something! This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Not sure where the lemon comes in...have a far easier way to make chicken and dumplings. Chicken/turkey depending on the flavor your are going for. Make a basic chicken/turkey soup and poultry seasoning. Then find pilsbury frozen buttermilk biscuits (in bag). After soup base is finished, add the biscuits that have been cut into quarters. I find it easier to cut the biscuits when they are frozen. Quick and easy...Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I used the dumpling part of the recipe and my own creation for the broth and chicken part. My family loved it. Instead of water I use the stock from the simmered chicken and instead of shortening i use butter. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States