Southern Style Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I doubled the broth ingredients, and used chicken broth instead of water. Very, very good! I also used frozen tea biscuits, which I half baked before putting on top. So much easier, but just as good. If you have leftovers, be sure to separate the dumplings before storing to keep them from turning to mush when you rewarm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I did not care for this recipe... Maybe because i am Canadian, and have NEVER had a dish like this... but holy wow..never do this again. I had to tweek this beyond belief.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This was an awesome recipe. Just what I was looking for, love the dumplings. I made two slight changes though. I saw on another chicken and dumplings recipe they added a can of cream of celery soup. And two, I baked the chicken instead of boiling. It comes out so much tastier. Thanks again!!! Five stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickiePuff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This recipe is simple and delicious. The only thing I would improve (hence 4 starts instead of five) is to substitute some of the chicken broth (or stock) in place of the water added to the dumplings and add about 1/2 tsp. of poultry seasoning. This added a lot more flavoring and seasoned the dumplings perfectly. The texture and "hardiness" of the dumplings are a perfect comfort food. It's always better the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I made this today for my Sunday dinner for myself because my daughter refuse to eat this with me. I was trying to capture the taste back when my Big-ma was alive and would make this. This recipe didn't do it for me at all. The seasonings were on point and great so I will keep that part but the dumplings were not what I was looking for. Perhaps I didn't roll them out as thin as needed to be because I had some pieces that were very thin and tasted a lot better than the thicker ones. I'm going to try it again one day but making the dumplings as thin as I can get them. Mines remind me of those old fashioned egg noodles you can buy at the store in the freezer section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gimmymore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Romulus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Yummmmmm so perfect on a rainy Washington day! Really brought the sun into my tummy! The perfect comfort food recipe...added extra thyme and substituted bay for basil and juniper berries...dumplings needed about 2 spoons more of water and I slightly balled them by giving them a pinch...I opted to just leave the onion in and it added to the texture for sure. Served with piping hot buttermilk biscuits. A hit and quite easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen a la Capital Clubhouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Taste like Italian stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
That was very good!! Whole family liked it. I did make a few small changes. I added some xtra chicken broth, and I also used rosemary, celery salt, and a little sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Washington, USA
Living In: Dale City, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
A wonderful recipe.The only thing I would change is maybe adding celery,carrots,or peas next time,and I thickened the broth by adding flour.Great flavor,and the lemon enhances this dish.I will be making this dish for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Big Hit..... Family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States